LibGuides: Instrumental Music: Home

Recommended Article Databases

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
ERIC (via ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Find more information.

Recommended Music Indexes and Bibliographies

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included. Find more detailed information.
Music Index
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

Recommended Audio Subscriptions

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month. Find more information.
Allows 5 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
Music & Performing Arts
Searchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.