Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Databases
You can use the databases below to find scholarly journal articles related to introduction of Hebrew Bible / Old Testament
- Religion DatabaseThis database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more detailed information.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Recommended Books
The Oxford Bible Commentary by Call Number: BS491.3 .O94 2001
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible - A-C by Call Number: BS440 .N443 2006
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
Searching the UNCW Library Catalog will help you find books, commentaries, and references that will be helpful for this course.
You can start with a keyword search for your topic - for example, Isaiah AND prophet. Once you find a book or books that look useful, you can look at the subject headings listed in the book's catalog record to find more materials that might be helpful. Some examples of useful subject headings are:
- Bible -- Commentaries
- Bible O.T. -- Commentaries
- Bible. Joshua -- Criticism and interpretation
- Bible. Judges -- Commentaries (NOTE: You can do this with any book of the Bible: "Bible. [Book title] -- Commentaries")
- Bible O.T. -- Minor Prophets -- Commentaries