Introduction to Political Science Methods

Public policy has developed into a broad and interdisciplinary area of study. Research in the field tends to reflect this wide-ranging nature, with scholarly activity focusing on policy process, policy design, program evaluation, specific policy issues, and research classified simply as "policy studies." Yet for those teaching and studying in the field, the disjointed nature of the field can be confusing and cumbersome. In this newly revised and updated edition ofThe Public Policy Theory Primer, authors Kevin B. Smith and Christopher W. Larimer provide a reasoned and structured framework for the field of public policy, not only discussing several major theories but also offering a consistent and coherent framework for uniting the field. This organized and comprehensive approach addresses core questions and concepts, major theoretical frameworks, primary methodological approaches, and key controversies and debates. In the second edition, the authors cover new approaches to subsystems theory, policy narratives, behavioral economics and policymaking, implementation theory, and many other new themes in each of the book's ten chapters.The Public Policy Theory Primer is an indispensable text for the systematic study of public policy.

This comprehensive, practical writer's manual is designed to helpreadersaccomplish two goals: 1) improve their writing skills and strategies and 2) learn political science at the same time. The manual considers the different types of papers common to political science at all levels, at the introductory level, and at the advanced level–exploring the purposes and characteristics of each paper, the steps for writing a successful paper, and typical formats.The volume provides a handbook of style for political science, guide to distance learning and the Internet and writing assignments for all levels.For those interested in improving the political science writing.

Government information is an integral part of library work. Sifting through the massive amount of government data available to find the answers and current information you and your patrons need, however, can be difficult and overwhelming.

This book introduces the vital elements of American politics, emphasizing how these elements have evolved into the form they take today. By using a historical-institutional approach to the various parts of American politics, Valelly communicates that the American political system is, andalways has been, a work in progress - one unfolding within, and also constantly updating, an eighteenth-century constitutional framework.Valelly begins by asking what Americans want from their politics and answers with a four-part analysis: (1) the politics of "peace and prosperity," (2) the sometimes illiberal politics of conformity and Americanization, (3) the politics of large-scale problem-solving (e.g., the abolition of slavery)and "perfection of the Union," and (4) the deep public desire for constitutional continuity. The last item provides the organizational framework/theme for the rest of the book.Additional chapters treat parties and polarization (stressing that contemporary polarization reinforces constitutional persistence because it provides for a mix of policy immobility and power-sharing between parties that bitterly disagree); a survey of the basic institutions: the Presidency,Congress, the judicial branch, the unelected bureaucracy of the independent agencies, and state and local governments. A third group of chapters deals with political communication, public opinion, voting and the boundaries of the electorate, and the politics of government steering of the economy.Finally, Valelly considers the puzzle of the persistence for more than two centuries of the basic constitutional forms established in 1787. The author employs a mix of quantitative data and historical examples to illustrate the main themes.

A 21st century approach to the study of politics   Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) is designed to fill that need. It is the encyclopedia for political science in the twenty-first century.   Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice.   Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this five- volume work consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from over 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays.   The encyclopedia supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods. It will be an essential reference for all academic and public libraries.   Quick Facts Thematic Table of Contents that maps major subfields and topics in politics Over 1,500 A to Z entries Contributing essays from scholars across the globe Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association