Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Databases
You can use the databases below to find scholarly journal articles related to literary criticism of short stories.
- MLA International BibliographySubjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
- Project MUSEProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Recommended Books
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
To find a short story in Randall Library's catalog, select "author" and enter the name of the short story's author (last name first). Then look for a title that indicates a short story collection. It is difficult to find a short story by title in the catalog because they are usually published in collections and anthologies, but you can also try using quotes around the title of the story.
To search for criticism of a short story within a book, consult Randall Library's catalog, select "subject," and enter the name of the story's author (last name first). Then search for the subject heading subdivision "criticism and interpretation."