Marine Sciences/Oceanography: Recommended Databases

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.

Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts who are recognized leaders in their fields. Scopus puts powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, research managers and funders to promote ideas, people and institutions. It indexes content from 7,000+ publishers and includes 91+ million records, 94,000+ affiliation profiles and 17+ million authors.

Premier database for literature on the marine science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms. Find more information.

IEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

Citations from life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Part of Web of Science. Includes access to millions of records from journals, books, reports, meetings, and U.S. patents. Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology. Allows you to search precisely with BCI indexing and enhanced MeSH terms.

The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Find more information.

Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.

SciFinder-n is a new generation of SciFinder. It is the premiere reference tool for research in chemistry. SciFinder-n can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. SciFinder-n provides an interface for searching six integrated bibliographic, substance, and reaction databases. In addition to chemistry and biochemistry, it includes coverage in the areas of agricultural sciences, biology and life sciences, engineering sciences, food sciences, geological sciences, material sciences, medical sciences, physics, and polymer science. Find more detailed information.

Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Find more detailed information.