Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Article Databases
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
- ERIC (via ProQuest)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Find more information.
Recommended Music Indexes and Bibliographies
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included. Find more detailed information.
- Music IndexFeaturing digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Recommended Audio Subscriptions
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month. Find more information.
- Music & Performing ArtsSearchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Recommended Video Subscriptions
- Digital Theatre PlusDigital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework. Includes an extensive repertoire of award-winning, acclaimed theatre, music and dance performances. Interviews and conversations with leading industry figures. Detailed historical, social and political context guides that encourage engagement with the language, form and structure of plays.
- Medici.tvResource for live and archived classical music performances and documentaries.
Recommended Videos, DVDs & Music
The Norton instruments of the orchestra by Call Number: ML1200 .N67 2007ISBN: 9780393106923Publication Date: 2007
Recommended Journals
- Music educators journal
Online publication
Peer-reviewed journal that provides scholarly and practical articles on teaching approaches, philosophies and techniques; current trends and issues in music education. - Journal of research in music education
Online publication
This is a publication of music education research studies published by the Society for Research in Music Education of MENC: The National Association for Music Education.
Recommended Research Books
Critical Issues in Music Education by Call Number: MT1 .C835 2010
A Guide to Research in Music Education by Call Number: MT1 .P5 2005
Recommended Books on Writing About Music
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .D76 2010
Quick Reference Guides for the NC Standard Course of Study
The Quick Reference Guides contain the standards and objectives for all of the Common Core State Standards, North Carolina Essential Standards, and North Carolina Extended Content Standards. You can find all the reference guides by grade level on this page:
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:
M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
ML = books about music history and literature
MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)
Click below to view a list of common call numbers for each category.
