Practice of History: Major Political Crises and Debates in the U.S.

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The American Civil Liberties Union has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted.

Includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society, Workers and Labor Unions, American Indians and the American West, and Women’s Studies. Find more information.

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources. It is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence through history and to digitize and index over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished material to the highest standards. This project will enable historians, sociologists, students of literature, genealogical researchers, students, and general readers to experience these writings in a new way.

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more. Find more information.

Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.

A comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights. The Nation Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile, dating back to the magazine's first issue from July 6, 1865.

National Review has been an important American journal of opinion and has provides readers with well-reasoned editorial commentary on critical issues. National Review Archive offers complete indexing, abstracting and full text for the magazine from the first issue in 1955 to the present.

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is considered of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. It features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints. This digital archive offers a searchable full-text backfile of all issues of the magazine.

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

Features collections from the Schlesinger Library, Margaret Sanger Papers, and records of National Woman's Party, Women's Action Alliance. Part of the History Vault database. Find more detailed information.