Skip to Main Content

Recreation Therapy

Explore this guide of curated library and web resources for students and faculty in Recreation Therapy.

Professional Resources

National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification
This website includes information regarding CTRS certification and renewal. Includes resources for financial assistance and employers. The site also provides links to publications.
North Carolina Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure
Resource provides information on Recreational Therapy Licensure, including how to obtain and verify a license.
American Therapeutic Recreation Association
National membership organization representing the interests and needs of therapeutic recreation specialists, or recreation therapists. Provides resources on membership, education, advocacy, and research.

Selected NCTRC Exam References

The following list includes the major therapeutic recreation literature that was available as reference material in the development of the exam items for the national exam for CTRS. The resources were used as supportive documentation and reference materials that commonly held practice knowledge. Refer to NCTRC for more information: https://www.nctrc.org/exam/exam-preparation-tools.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
The DSM-5 is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Therapeutic Recreation Practice by Lynn Anderson; Linda Heyne
Call Number: RM736.7 .A53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Therapeutic Recreation: Processes and Techniques (7th ed.) by David R. Austin
Call Number: RM736.7 .A97 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Recreational Therapy: An Introduction
Call Number: RM736.7 .A957 2015
ISBN: 9781571677389
Introduction to Recreation Services for People with Disabilities: A Person-Centered Approach by Charles C. Bullock, Michael J. Mahon
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Therapeutic Recreation: A Practical Approach by Marcia Jean Carter; Glen E. Van Andel
Call Number: RM736.7 .C37 2020
Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Idyll Arbor's Therapy Dictionary
Call Number: RM930 .B87 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Leisure and Aging by Rosangela K. Boyde; Francis A. McGuire; Ted Tedrick
Call Number: GV14.45 .M33 2013
Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Effective Management in Therapeutic Recreation Service by Marcia Jean Carter, Christen G. Smith, Gerald S. O'Morrow
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781571678324
Publication Date: 2014
Therapeutic Recreation Program Design by Norma J. Stumbo; Carol Ann Peterson
Call Number: RM736.7 .S78 2009
Publication Date: 2008-02-21
Recreational Therapy Basics, Techniques, and Interventions by Heather Porter (Editor)
Call Number: RC489.R4 R43 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-10
Recreational Therapy Handbook of Practice: ICF-Based Diagnosis and Treatment by Heather R. Porter; Joan Burlingame
Call Number: RM736.7 .P67 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation by Terry Long; Terry Robertson
Call Number: RM736.7 .F66 2020
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Therapeutic Recreation in Health Promotion and Rehabilitation by John Shank; Catherine Coyle
Call Number: RC489.R4 S53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Client Assessment in Therapeutic Recreation Services by Norma J. Stumbo
Call Number: RM736.7 .S84 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Client Outcomes in Therapeutic Recreation Services by Norma J. Stumbo (Editor)
Call Number: RM736.7 .C554 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Professional Issues in Therapeutic Recreation: On Competence and Outcomes by Norma J. Stumbo, Brent D. Wolfe, Shane Pegg, editors
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Facilitation of Therapeutic Recreation Services by Norma J. Stumbo; Brad Wardlaw
Call Number: RM736.7 F33 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-21