Social Sciences & History Librarian
Government Information Librarian
Elisabeth Garner
Contact:
UNCW Library
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
Subjects: Current Topics, Government Resources
Library Catalog Search
Starting Points: Books
- Guide to HUD User data setsData from the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Policy Development and Research.
Mining Massive Data Sets for Security by ISBN: 9781586038984Publication Date: 2008-12-15The real power for security applications will come from the synergy of academic and commercial research focusing on the specific issue of security. This book is suitable for those interested in understanding the techniques for handling very large data sets and how to apply them in conjunction for solving security issues.
Starting Points: Databases
- CQ Voting and Elections CollectionA database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
- ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- Roper iPOLLThe largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download. Find more information.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.
- Statistics of U.S. BusinessU.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.