LibGuides: Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Databases included are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Find more information.

SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Provides information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices to improve prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders.
The Guide to Community Preventative Services
The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
Provides access to information about selected child welfare related programs. The primary task of the CEBC is to inform the child welfare community about the research evidence for programs being used or marketed in California.
Trip Clinical Database
Trip is a free clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also includes images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Guidance
Based in the United Kingdom, NICE's Guidance includes evidence-based advice, standards, and guidelines for social care and public health services.
UpToDate
Helpful for clinical social workers, UpToDate is an evidence based, peer reviewed, clinical decision support tool. Contains specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment; combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, OB/GYN, general surgery and pediatrics. Log in every 90 days to maintain access.