Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Visit the Center
Location
The Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History is located on the 2nd floor of Discovery Hall in the UNCW Library.
Hours
The Center is open from 10am to 2pm, Monday - Friday. Appointments are not required, but we strongly encourage visitors to contact us in advance of any planned research visit to discuss your research topic and confirm the availability of collections. Onsite research assistance may be limited.
Access Policies
Prior to visiting the Center, users should familiarize themselves with our access and use policies.
Published Works
The books listed in this section of the guide are held in the Center's book collections and accessible in the CSENCAH reading room. Circulating copies of some titles may also be available for checkout from the library's general collection. For more information, click the links below to view the catalog records for individual titles.
In addition to the titles below, you can see a full list of books and ebooks on surfing available from UNCW Library by clicking here.
- 200 years of surfing literature : an annotated bibliography / based on Daved Marsh's The Water log byCall Number: GV840.S8 D44 2004Publication Date: 2004
- Eddie would go : the story of Eddie Aikau, Hawaiian hero byCall Number: GV838.A45 C65 2002Publication Date: 2002
- The glide : longboarding and the renaissance of modern surfing byCall Number: GV840.S8 G54 1998Publication Date: 1998
- Historic Wilmington & the Lower Cape Fear : an illustrated history byCall Number: F262.N5 F646 2007Publication Date: 2007
- Petersen's Surfing yearbookCall Number: GV840.S8 P47
- Surfing : Hawaii's gift to the world of sports byCall Number: GV840.S8 H45 1977Publication Date: 1977
- Surfing NC : a timeline of the history of the sport of surfing in North Carolina byCall Number: GV839.65.N8 H35 2016Publication Date: 2016
- Surfing the South : the search for waves and the people who ride them byCall Number: GV839.5.S9 E77 2022Publication Date: 2022
- Thai stick : surfers, scammers, and the untold story of the marijuana trade byCall Number: HD9019.M382 T553 2014Publication Date: 2014
- Tom Blake : the uncommon journey of a pioneer waterman byCall Number: GV838.B53 L96 2001Publication Date: 2001
- The wave : in pursuit of the rogues, freaks, and giants of the ocean byCall Number: GC227 .C37 2011Publication Date: 2011
- Wavescape : portraits of the planet's best surf spots byCall Number: GV840.S8 T69 2002Publication Date: 2002
- Where the surfers are : a guide to the world's great surfing spots byCall Number: GV840.S8 D53 1968Publication Date: 1968
- World Surfing Championships : official program final resultsCall Number: GV840.S8 W67 1966Publication Date: 1966
These titles are available in the collections of the Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History or, occasionally, accessible online. Dates listed in the Publication Date field indicate which issues are held by UNCW library. Links refer to the UNCW Library catalog. Digitized issues, when they exist, can be accessed from the journal's catalog record.
- Atlantic SurfingPublication Date: 1965-1967
- Eastern Surf MagazinePublication Date: 1992-2017
- Eastern WavesPublication Date: Spring 1975
- International SurfingCall Number: 1964-1968
- Juice magazinePublication Date: 1997, 2006
- LinesPublication Date: 2004-2023
- Line UpPublication Date: 2005-2008
- Local-SessionsPublication Date: 2007-2016
- Surf CarolinaPublication Date: 2008-2010
- SurferPublication Date: 1962-1967; 1985-2006; 2008-2020
- The Surfer's JournalCall Number: https://libcat.uncw.edu/record=b1849296~S4Publication Date: 1992-2006; 2020-2024
- SurfingPublication Date: 1986; 2006; 2008-2013
- Surfing EastPublication Date: 1965-1967
- SurftoonsPublication Date: 1964, 1966