Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Databases
- Naxos Music Library JazzNaxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ) is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others. You can select works by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number. Playlists can also be easily created for educational use, or for hours of continuous enjoyment. New jazz releases are continually added to ensure that the music library is always up-to-date. Multiple users can listen to the same or different tracks at the same time. In the classroom, teachers can choose from a great selection of music to play without having to find or purchase CDs.
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Find more information.
Recommended Books
Complete method for the tuba by Call Number: MT482.A73 C64 2007- The complete solfeggi : legato etudes for tuba by Call Number: MT485.C656 J33 2000
Recommended Websites
- Tuba Reference GuideContains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for tuba repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for tuba related sources.
- Trombone/Euphonium Reference GuideContains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for horn repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for trombone related sources.
- International Tuba Euphonium AssociationOrganization dedicated to promoting and advancing the tuba and euphonium instruments; comprised of performers, educators, students, and amateurs of all backgrounds.
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing.
M95-M99 Tuba alone
M264-M267 Tuba with piano accompaniment
M288-M289 Duets-- two wind instruments
M290-M291 Duets-- wind and string instruments
M1034.T8 Concertos with orchestra
M1035.T8 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1134.T8 Concertos with string orchestra
M1135.T8 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML970-73 Books about the trombone
MT480-MT488 Studies and methods
MT486 Orchestral excerpts