LibGuides: Athletic Training: Scholarly Articles

Welcome!

Welcome to the Athletic Training Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Athletic Training related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research. Click the tabs on the left side of this page to explore different resources and materials.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
In January 2024 Randall Library upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate from CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine. Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
PubMED
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.

Athletic Training Journals

These journals are key resources for scholarly and peer-reviewed material in the field of athletic training. Skip the databases and browse or search the journals directly using the links below.

Journal of Athletic Training
Open access journal with the mission to advance the science and clinical practice of athletic training and sports medicine. Athletic training is a health care profession that encompasses the prevention, examination, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of emergent, acute, and chronic injuries, illnesses, and pathologies in athletes and other physically active individuals.

American Journal of Sports Medicine
The official publication of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM), this journal is a forum for independent orthopaedic sports medicine research and education, allowing clinical practitioners the ability to make decisions based on sound scientific information.
Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine
A global, peer-reviewed, open access journal developed by the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) that combines the interests of researchers and clinical practitioners across orthopaedic sports medicine, arthroscopy, and knee and shoulder arthroplasty.
Sports Medicine
Sports Medicine bridges the gap between science and practice in the promotion of exercise and health, and in the scientific assessment, study and understanding of sports performance. Regular features include: sports injury prevention and treatment; exercise for health; drugs in sport and recommendations for training and nutrition.

Athletic Training

Health and Human Services Librarian

Need Help?

Welcome!

Recommended Databases

Athletic Training Journals

Other Helpful Article Databases