Athletic Training

Athletic trainers require more administrative knowledge than ever before, and Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is designed to help them master that knowledge. The latest edition of this respected text prepares athletic trainers to be successful in any setting and with any clientele.

"Concepts of Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, represents over a decade of evolution and revision of the previous editions in an effort to better serve students considering a career in coaching, athletic training, or K-12 physical education. This introductory text presents key concepts pertaining to the field of athletic training in a comprehensive, logically sequential manner that will assist future professionals in making the correct decisions when confronted with an activity-related injury or illness in the scope of their practice."--BOOK JACKET.

A necessity for today's athletic training student and professional is a solid text focusing on the skill of documentation. The search is over with Documentation for Athletic Training, a unique and one-of-a-kind resource written specifically to teach and explain this important skill. Jeff G. Konin and Margaret Frederick are joined by many of today's top athletic training professionals to bring you the necessary elements for documentation. Inside you will find the basic principles of medical documentation, various styles of writing, legal considerations, and documentation for reimbursement. The editors also detail the many types of written documentation including evaluations, discharge summaries, injury reports, and medical releases. Enter the profession with confidence or stay ahead of the curve with Documentation for Athletic Training, the only resource athletic trainers will need by their side. Features: Worksheets for documentation of clinical proficiencies. Standardized abbreviations. Examples of standard forms. Learning objectives for each chapter. Pearls of wisdom to highlight key points and professional advice. Common mistakes and how to avoid them.  

Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice is designed as an entry-level book on evidence-based practice in rehabilitation. Specifically written for rehabilitation practitioners, this exceptional text is not designed to teach students how to do research, but rather how to become critical consumers of research, therefore developing skills to ensure that their rehabilitation practice is based on the best evidence that is available. Much of the text focuses on how knowledge is developed, making it an essential tool for both students and practitioners. While providing the most up-to-date information about evidence-based practice, this comprehensive and well-organized text focuses on building skills for understanding and using evidence, rather than simply doing research. By viewing evidence-based practice from a holistic perspective, this text also recognizes the need to include client preferences and therapists’ clinical reasoning in the process. Each chapter in the text has clinical examples as well as exercises for students to complete. The chapters also include suggested further resources in the literature and on the web. Evidence- Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice is a necessary addition to the bookshelf of anyone desiring to incorporate the most current and complete evidence-based research into his or her rehabilitation practice. Features: Critical review forms that can be used to guide students’ appraisal of the literature. Includes specific information about communicating evidence to clients, families, and decision-makers. Each chapter includes “take home” messages relating the key learning points from the chapter.

"This is by far the most comprehensive and user-friendly text for both professor and student! I am continuing to use it in my Athletic Training Program, and beginning next year, I will institute it into my PT courses in Ortho I & II." --Vincent J. Hudson, MS, PT, ATC, MBA, University of Central Florida, Orlando, Florida, review of the 2nd Edition. The 3rd Edition of this popular work has been completely revised and updated to bring you all of the field's most current knowledge in an even easier-to-use new design. Its superb combination of detailed illustrations and precise language make even the most complicated concepts and techniques clear. Organized by body region, each chapter begins with a review of anatomy and biomechanics; proceeds through clinical evaluation, pathologies and related special tests; and concludes with a discussion of on-field or initial management of specific injuries.

This text emphasies the use of control of physiological systems when exercising.

The latest edition of the best-selling sport and exercise psychology book on the market, Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides a thorough introduction to the key concepts in the field. Written by internationally respected authors, it provides students and new practitioners with a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, bridges the gap between research and practice, conveys principles of professional practice, and captures the excitement of the world of sport and exercise. A supreme effort has been made to meet the increasing needs of professors, practitioners, and students. To further improve the total learning experience, the fifth edition features the following: - A streamlined online study guide that provides an interactive learning experience for students - A new full-color format that visually engages students in the information - An emphasis on the educational journey that students take through the field of sport and exercise psychology, helping them envision where they can be most successful in the field - Thoroughly updated material that reflects the latest research and practice to keep readers aware of recent findings and hot topics in the field - New sidebars with contemporary practical examples, case studies, and anecdotes to help students understand various theories and concepts Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides students with a unique learning experience, taking them on a journey through the origins and goals, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field. The book contains seven parts that may be studied in any sequence. Part I introduces students to the field, detailing its history, current status, and the various roles of sport and exercise psychologists. Part II focuses on personal factors that affect performance and psychological development in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. In part III, the authors focus on two major classes of situational factors that influence behavior: competition and cooperation, and feedback and reinforcement. Part IV focuses on group interaction and processes, while part V discusses how psychological techniques may be used to help people perform more effectively. Part VI addresses the various roles psychological factors play in health and exercise. The final section, part VII, deals with topics of psychological development and well-being that are important to both society and sport and exercise psychology, including children's psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts. The online study guide allows the subject of sport psychology to come alive to its users. The study guide works directly with the text; mentions of the study guide appear throughout each chapter to encourage students to apply knowledge gained from the text. This online study guide features several individual and small-group learning activities that may be completed electronically and saved as an .rtf file. This new format allows instructors to choose whether they would like students to complete the activities for personal use, print and hand them in as assignments, or submit them for assessment as an e-mail attachment or through a learning management system. The study guide activities require students to do the following: - Use actual sport and exercise psychology instruments to assess their skills - Determine how to respond to real-life scenarios (with short answers or essays) - Review and design research studies and experiments - Search the Internet for relevant information - Apply and test their understanding of principles and concepts of sport and exercise psychology Audio and video c

Practicing and Progressing to Medical Language Mastery Medical Terminology Simplified + Medical Language Lab work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the language of medicine. Medical Terminology Simplified, 6th Edition A programmed learning + self-paced + body systems approach! Build a medical vocabulary frame by frame as you explore each body system through the major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork. See what students are saying about the previous edition... Perfect. "Everything I needed for my class! Easily able to follow once I understood the layout. I definitely recommend buying the book with the access code!"--Logan S., Amazon Reviewer Easy to understand. "Great book, easy to understand and a great tool to study with."--Melissa, Amazon Reviewer Highly recommend it."...I really like the learning format. The text uses "programmed learning" to help you learn the information by providing fill-in-the-blanks as you read. I also feel the information is explained very well."-- Dez, Amazon Reviewer Medical Language Lab Online. Interactive. Progressive. Based on proven language methodology, Medical Language Lab [MLL] guides you step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become a confident medical language speaker. A wealth of audio case studies, progressive exercises, lecture videos, a pronunciation guide, plus an integrated e-book version of the text offer multiple paths to learning success. This immersive, multimedia experience guides students and tracks their progress as they apply word-building concepts for practice and application. A special code in new, printed texts unlocks Medical Language Lab for you. Instructors can use it with their current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. They can also customize it to meet the needs of their course.

Newly updated, this full-color resource offers a systematic approach to performing a neuromusculoskeletal assessment with rationales for various aspects of the assessment. This comprehensive text covers every joint of the body, head and face, gait, posture, emergency care, the principles of assessment, and preparticipation evaluation. The latest edition of this core text is the essential cornerstone in the new four-volume musculoskeletal rehabilitation series. Thorough, evidence-based content provides the information and detail you need to select the best diagnostic tests. Extensively updated information incorporates the latest research and most current practices. Case Studies help you apply what you learn from the book to real life situations. Tables and boxes throughout the text organize and summarize important information and highlight key points. Chapter Summaries review the assessment procedures for each chapter to help you find important information quickly. Case Histories in each chapter demonstrate assessment skills to help you apply them in practice. Reliability and validity of tests and techniques included throughout help you choose assessment methods supported by current evidence. A new full-color design clearly demonstrates assessment methods, a variety of tests, and causes of pathology. A Companion CD-ROM with all of the references from the text linked to MedLine abstracts reinforces concepts from the book. Primary Care Assessment chapter includes the latest information on the constantly evolving state of physical therapy practice. Includes the most current information on the assessment of the cervical spine, hip, posture, and foot and ankle to keep you up to date on current methods of practice.