LibGuides: Politics in Southeast North Carolina: UNCW Resources

UNCW Resources

Civil Rights in Southeast North Carolina: The School, the Market, and the Ballot Box
Digital collection of primary source documents and other resources related to southeastern North Carolina school desegregation, equal employment, equal access to public accommodations, and voting rights.

NOTE: Randall Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program and the North Carolina State Clearinghouse. We receive resources that are produced by federal and state agencies and departments. These resources include Congressional hearings and committee prints, statistics, data, laws, journals, magazines, and much more. A wide range of subjects and topics are covered, and resources are available in print and online. Please refer to Government Resources here for more information.

Recommended Databases

These databases contain material relevant to politics in Southeast North Carolina or related to topics held within our manuscript collections.

American Politics and Society
Features Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administration records as well as Thomas A. Edison Papers and immigration records. Part of the History Vault database.
Political Science Database
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. The collections cover the 1900s to the 2010s when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
Resource provides primary source content from 15 major magazines throughout the twentieth century. The topics covered include current and major events, international relations, and public policy.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.