Education - Social Studies

Educational resource for children and educators about the federal government.

Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation ("Constitution Annotated" or "CONAN") provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution. This regularly updated resource is written in "plain English" and useful for a wide audience: from constitutional scholars to those just beginning to learn about the nation's most important legal document.

Resource providing more than 35,000 pages of content related to international cultural studies. Information searchable by country and topic.

Resource for children's education about geography and earth science topics.

Web-based education project designed to teach students civics and inspire them to be active participants in U.S. democracy.

Learning for Justice is a community education program of the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) that cultivates and nurtures dialogue, learning, reflection and action from those closest to and harmed most by injustices in the South.

Provides lesson plans, themed resources, primary source sets, presentations and activities, and collection connections.

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections. A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

This website provides information about the NCSS. The site includes NCSS position statements, as well as news, publications, and resources for the social studies field.

The National Geographic Education site provides resources for educators and students. The site offers news updates, audio/visual content, lesson plans, and much more.

Experience portraiture beyond the frame. Our collections present people of remarkable character and achievement. These Americans—artists, politicians, scientists, inventors, activists, and performers—form our national identity. They help us understand who we are and remind us of what we can aspire to be. Get to know us at the National Portrait Gallery. We look forward to sharing the faces and stories of inspiring Americans with you.

from National Museum of the American Indian, explore featured instructional and informational resources, below, or search all resources using the search tool.

The museum offers limitless options to learn about the history of North Carolina, whether in-person, touring an exhibit or participating in a program, or from the comfort of your home watching a video series or attending a virtual event, or in the classroom using hands-on activities or joining a history club or live stream. Explore our wealth of content below and find the materials and programs that help you learn.

From National Council for the Social Studies. Books selected for this bibliography are written primarily for children in grades K-12. The selection committee looks for books that emphasize human relations, represent a diversity of groups and are sensitive to a broad range of cultural experiences, present an original theme or a fresh slant on a traditional topic, are easily readable and of high literary quality, and have a pleasing format and, when appropriate, illustrations that enrich the text. Each book is read by several reviewers, and books are included on the list by committee assent; annotations do not necessarily reflect the judgment of the entire committee. The Notable Trade Books for Young People list is published each year as an insert to the May/June issue of Social Education and online.

From the University of Texas at Austin, the Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Collection website is archived as of 2021 and no longer being updated. Links to external sites may no longer work as expected.

USAGov is the official guide to government information and services

#GoOpenNC is a library of open education resources and network of NC educators.

Digital textbook of primary sources, multimedia, readings, and lesson plans covering all of North Carolina history.

Database of free lesson plans and complementary activities for use in-school or after. Materials searchable by grade. To ensure compatibility, files are available in PDF format. You must have Adobe Reader installed to access the materials, which is available for free at http://get.adobe.com/reader.

DigitalNC is a project of the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, a statewide digitization and digital publishing program that works with cultural heritage organizations of all sizes across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. We are housed in the North Carolina Collection at UNC’s Wilson Special Collections Library.

Collections and scholarship from Duke University Libraries

The Division of Archives and Records has a vast collection of primary resource materials which can be used in education, including diaries, maps, letters, memoirs, photographs, and government records. Many of these materials are available through our online resources and can be aligned to national and state teaching standards. Primary resources are particularly useful in education because they give students concrete examples from which to explore a concept or event and encourage analytical skills as students evaluate how documents reflect the points of view of the people who created them.

The NCDPI Social Studies Team provides Public School Units (PSUs) with support related to Social Studies standards, curriculum, and instruction. The work of the NCDPI Social Studies Team includes: sustaining statewide implementation of the NC Social Studies Standards, developing resources, providing professional development and technical assistance, and coordinating efforts to build stakeholder capacity.

This site provides an online encyclopedia containing articles covering a broad spectrum of topics, as well as resources about North Carolina, including: historical time periods; biographies; counties and government; geography and environment; business and economy; historical places and monuments; natural resources and natural heritage; and others. NCpedia also includes thousands of images. Educator Resources: https://www.ncpedia.org/educator-resources

The North Carolina Council for the Social Studies’ mission is to serve the members of our organization in providing support to social studies educators across this state by: Collaborating with other professional groups to enhance social studies connections in North Carolina, Publicizing and promoting the importance of the social studies in the curriculum, Ensuring that all NC students develop skills and appreciations of social studies from the global to local perspective in order to become productive citizens in today’s changing world, Uplifting the study and integration of social studies within the curricula for all students, Speaking on behalf of social studies issues.

Digital collections of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.

Explore our digital Special Collections! These collections contain curated resources that span centuries, covering a wide array of subjects and disciplines. From rare manuscripts to historical photographs, these digital gems offer a unique window into the past and present.