The Arts in Southeast North Carolina

A complete art history guide to art prints classified by country of origin, artist and year. This history covers prehistoric monuments, bronzes, tools, stone sculptures and coins as expressions of art to the modern day works of the western culture.

This collection contains the papers of Wilmington artist Harry Lee Davis (1949-2018). Included newspaper articles, correspondence, business agreements, and publicity materials documenting his career as an artist with an emphasis on local exhibition and marketing. Additionally, this collection contains limited edition prints of Davis' work.

This crayon sketch on paper [9"x 11 3/4"] is of three images of male heads: a profile and back side view of an adult and a profile of an adolescent. It is initialed by the artist; the date is on a corner which has been broken off and may be 1968 or 1969. The word "studies" has been penciled at the bottom of the paper.

This collection contains materials pertaining to the life and career of Eloise Bethell, an artist who resided for many years in Wilmington, North Carolina. Included are correspondence, newspaper clippings, programs, publications, and original artwork that document Bethell's involvement in theater and modeling as a young woman, and the development of her career as an artist. Dates primarily span from the 1950s to the 1980s.

The bulk of this collection follows the birth of an idea for books on flora and fauna, the living desert, rainforest, and waters around an island, from first thoughts and art doodles, to finished product. Most of these notes focus on A North American Rain Forest Scrapbook, which can be found in its complete form in the library's general collection. The remainder of the collection includes newspaper clippings, correspondence with publishers, and biographical information about Wright-Frierson.

This collection consists of operational records, artist participant documents, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings and assorted promotional material from the bi-annual No Boundaries International Art Colony held in Bald Head, North Carolina.

This collection contains Jack Berkman's photo records, handwritten records, an album of his work and personal photographs, gallery announcements, copies of letters with sketches from post-WWII, numerous color slides of his art, exhibits, and family, newspaper articles, and twenty sheets (back to back) of ink sketches of nudes.

This collection contains papers, photographs, and original artwork, which highlight the career of local Wilmington artist, Fritzi Huber. Spanning from the 1970s to the early 2000s, this collection includes a wide range of papers: correspondence, artist statements, resumes, press releases, brochures/newsletters, artists/gallery agreements, price list purchase orders, invoices, packing slips, gallery floor plans, and consignment agreements. Also included within the collection are models/sketches of Fritzi's designs and photographs of her art, as well as photographs of specific galleries and commissioned sites.

This collection contains papers and media related to the career of local Wilmington artist Gayle Tustin. The collection includes sketchbooks, preliminary plans, interviews, magazine articles, applications, records, artists' biography, consignment forms, material lists, photographs, postcards, and brochures that map Tustin's artistic career from the early 1980s to the early 2000s. The collection ranges in terms of the size and scope of projects, including local commissions and plans for international galleries. The collection highlights Tustin's involvement in local projects, workshops, art colonies, galleries, and commissioned projects. Her art utilizes a multitude of mediums including pen, pencil, charcoal, pastels, and paint.

Scrapbooks, newspaper articles, brochures, catalogs, announcements, videotapes, photographs and slides relating to career of artist Billie Ruth Sudduth.

This collection contains materials pertaining to local potter and artist Hiroshi Sueyoshi, documenting his career and major exhibitions of his work. Included are exhibition catalogues, advertisements, invitations, correspondence, and newspaper articles.

This collection documents Pam Toll's work with Acme Studios and as a working artist in the community. Included are personal correspondence, event announcements, certificates, planning and promotional materials for exhibits, news articles and cards. The majority of the material dates from the early 1980s to the early 2000s. Noteable projects represented in the collection include Toll's work with No Boundaries (inspiration for), Paint a Future and Acme Art Studios.

This collection contains Bissette's papers, photographs, artwork and record of his artistic career.

Consuelo "Connie" Berkman was an artist and photographer in Wilmington, North Carolina and the adopted daughter of well-known artist, Jack Berkman. The Consuelo Berkman Papers contain artwork, correspondence, personal journals, photographs, yearbooks, and other materials dating from 1968 to her death in 1996. The bulk of the collection is comprised of Berkman's photography and includes thousands of prints, slides, negatives, and contact sheets documenting daily life in and around the Wilmington area.

This collection contains original artwork created by local Wilmington artist, Hester Claire Donnelly (1904-1992). Included are a series of informal sketches and finished works ranging in topic. Most of the artwork was created on rough or semi-tooth drawing paper using watercolor paints, pencils, colored pencils, and markers.

The collection consists of Baldridge's diaries, journals, personal correspondence, clippings, and slides of artwork. Most of the material in this collection is original.

This collection contains 16 prints of hand drawn Christmas cards by Claude Howell from 1977 to 1994. Many are illustrations of downtown Wilmington, North Carolina, specifically of St. James Episcopal Church. Christian imagery is consistent throughout this collection of cards, including angels, baby Jesus, and the Three Wise Men, along with other biblical scenes. Some cards were drawn abroad and highlight the culture of the country Howell was visiting. All are pen and ink illustrations.

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photocopied documents, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

Materials in this collection focus on Dorothy Nesbitt's service as a student, teacher, and advocate for dance and the arts, both in the Wilmington, North Carolina area and internationally, from the 1960s to the 1990s. Papers and photographs showcasing her passion for ballet and modern dance include workshop information, brochures, performance highlights, correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, articles, and scrapbook pages. Her educational material feature content on racial integration in the classroom, lectures, lesson plans, and essays.

This collection consists of memorabilia from the career of Sara Mildred Strauss Newman, including outlines of dance, manuscripts of techniques, photos, news articles and reviews.

This collection contains VHS and cassette tapes of local Wilmington, NC theatre and dance productions from the 1990s. Companies include Tapestry Theatre Company, Dance Theatre of Wilmington, Grace Theatre, Stageworks, and Celebration Theatre.

This collection consists of music scores and sheet music primarily composed by Alfred Harding Yopp, Wilmington musician and businessman, as well as correspondence, newspaper clippings, and programs.

This collection documents the activities Wilmington's Thursday Morning Music Club from its origin in 1892 to 2014, including the club's affiliation with the North Carolina and National Federations of Music Clubs. Represented in the records are minutes, bylaws, banking records, reports, correspondence, member directories, programs, and yearbooks. Of historical significance are the minutes of the club's first meetings documenting its founding members, meeting locations and songs practiced.

This collection includes sheet music and songbooks of popular music during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Most of the selections are written for piano, however there are several arrangements for the ukulele and guitar.

This collection contains oversized volumes of cantor's music in Hebrew, loose leaves of printed music, Yiddish posters, Hebrew choral manuscripts in parts Haggadah (Hebrew-English), an oral history with Trudi Rosenthal of the Holocaust, and Rabbi Thurman's last sermon.

Original sheet music, mostly of the the late nineteenth century, for voice and piano.

This collection contains the personal music library of Laura Harriss Howell and includes opera librettos, music books, and sheet music meant to be sung and played on piano, organ or guitar by musicians in the home. Published primarily in the first half of the nineteenth century but including some Confederate imprints, the music reflects the parlor music tastes of the period and contains popular part-singing classics of the day.

BEAT Magazine was a local publication in Wilmington, North Carolina that was devoted to music and the performing arts in the Wimington area. Mike Raab started the magazine in 1992 and sold it in 2006 to Jeff Reid, who continued publication until 2011. The magazine featured local artists, events, and reviews of new musicians. This collection contains both audio and video recordings of local musicians collected by BEAT magazine, including 58 cassette tapes, 83 CDs, and 37 VHS tapes. Also included are photographs of musicians from two BEAT magazine sponsored events.

This collection contains publications, posters, and photographs relating to the music of Billy James, otherwise known as ANT-BEE, and other local Wilmington musicians. James authored several publications including Bizarticles Vol. 1-3 and the Dictionary of Rhythm Vol. 1 contained in these papers. Also included are photographs of James with other musicians and posters advertising local concerts.

The collection is comprised of original music scores for chorus and organ, as well as revisions of other compositions.

This collection contains memorabilia relating to the John Callum Ragtime Trio, a musical group that performed at local Wilmington venues during the late 1970s and early 1980s. Included are photographs, music lists and lyrics, and newspaper clippings.

Karen Swenson's book projects focused on Greta Garbo, Barbra Streisand, Deanna Durbin, Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe, Stevie Nicks, and US Gymnasts. Her research material spans items such as personal correspondence, fan mail, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, audio visual material, related books and essays, and manuscript drafts.

This collection is composed of undated piano and choral sheet music consisting of music from play productions and operas, official United States military songs, and other songs of the era. Well-known pieces such as People Will Say We Are In Love from the musical Oklahoma and the musical score from Gone With The Wind are contained within this sheet music collection. The only dated source, The Marine's Hymn, is from 1942 and is the oldest and official song of the United State Marine Corps.

This collection is composed of early to mid-twentieth century vocal and instrumental sheet music. The sheet music contains instruction for instruments such as piano, guitar, banjo, ukulele, and banjolele and spans musical genres. Instruction for songs from both films and musicals are available in the collection as well as unique pieces such as "Lindberg (Eagle Of The U.S.A.)" which was written in honor of aviator Charles Lindberg.

This collection contains theatre professor Doug Swink's memorabilia from his tenure as a Wilmington College faculty member during the 1960s. Included in the collection are slides, performance programs and tickets, photographs, newspaper clippings, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings, as well as theatre news, both on and off campus.

This collection includes extensive biographical data on the actor, producer, and teacher, Edwin Booth. He was renowned in Europe, and the U.S.--with his brothers Junius and John Wilkes--for his interpretation of Shakespeare's tragedies. Edwin Booth's career spanned from the years 1849, to his last performance as Hamlet at the Academy of Music in 1891, in Brooklyn N.Y.

This collection contains papers, cassette tapes, VHS tapes, photographs, and slides related to the operations of Tapestry Theatre Company, primarily dating from the 1980s-1990s.

The Thalian Association is an amateur theatre company located in Wilmington, North Carolina. The Association has long had an important presence in the region and considers its founding date to be 1788. The present iteration of the Thalian Association was formed in 1929 and continues to operate today.

This collection contains VHS and cassette tapes of local Wilmington, NC theatre and dance productions from the 1990s. Companies include Tapestry Theatre Company, Dance Theatre of Wilmington, Grace Theatre, Stageworks, and Celebration Theatre.

This collection is comprised of produced and unproduced playscripts written by playwright and former Wilmington resident, Steven E. Cooper, which range in date from 1981 to 1994. Drafts and final scripts of The Lambda series are prominently featured. Set at a gay bar in Carolina Beach in 1979, The Lambda unfolds through the perspective of rising college freshman, Eric, and his interactions with other men in the bar.

This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photocopied documents, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.