Humanities Librarian
Recommended Scholarly Article Databases
Looking for literary criticism, research, and articles on a topic related to English? Try searching in the recommended databases listed below.
- MLA International BibliographySubjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
- Project MUSEProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- Gale Literary SourcesPresents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Something About the Author Online.
- Oxford JournalsCollections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseCLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). Find more information.
- NoveList PlusA readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.
- WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]Find books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- Wiley Online LibraryA multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books.
Find Articles Outside of Randall's Collections
The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
- CORE: Open Access for the HumanitiesPart of the Modern Language Association's Humanities Commons, CORE hosts articles, monographs, course materials, white papers, conference papers, code, and digital projects for and by humanities scholars and practitioners.
- Rhetoric & Writing Research Network (RWRN)Repository of scholarly research in contemporary and classical rhetoric and writing theory, professional and technical communication, argumentation and persuasion, visual and other multimodal writing, and more.