Skip to Main Content

North Carolina General Assembly

The North Carolina General Assembly, or the GA, is the lawmaking body in the state of North Carolina

North Carolina Senate

The Senate consists of 50 members who serve a term of two years. The Lieutenant Governor is President of the Senate and presides over the daily session. The Lieutenant Governor is elected by the citizens of North Carolina for a four-year term and has no vote in the Senate except to break a tie. The Senate elects officers from their membership including the President Pro Tempore.


North Carolina Senate Journals 2001-Present

North Carolina Senate Standing Committees

Find Your NC State Senator