ENG 230: Women in Literature

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries. Includes the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century. The Database of Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry documents the unique voices of 62 of this century's critically acclaimed African-American poets, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I.

Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century. The American Poetry database brings together, in a single database, the complete poetic works of more than 200 American writers from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century, along with "six landmark anthologies of American poetry." It contains more than 40,000 poems, including the works of major poets such as Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers the works of many less familiar authors.

Includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.

A digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."

Contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Gender Studies includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Seen through women’s eyes, nineteenth century southern social history takes on new dimensions. Subjects that were of only passing interest when historians depended on documents created by men now move to center stage. Women’s letters dwell heavily on illness, pregnancy, and childbirth. From them we can learn what it is like to live in a society in which very few diseases are well understood, in which death is common in all age groups, and where infant mortality is an accepted fact of life. The years of the Civil War are particularly well documented since many women were convinced that they were living through momentous historical events of which they should make a record.

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources. It is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence through history and to digitize and index over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished material to the highest standards. This project will enable historians, sociologists, students of literature, genealogical researchers, students, and general readers to experience these writings in a new way.

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

Features collections from the Schlesinger Library, Margaret Sanger Papers, and records of National Woman's Party, Women's Action Alliance. Part of the History Vault database. Find more detailed information.

Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, web site reviews, and teaching tools. Documents the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life. Find more detailed information.