UNCW Origins -- Wilmington College

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Department Records include administrative materials from Wilmington College's academic departments. Wilmington College began as a county-supported two-year college before it became UNC Wilmington, one of 16 constituent institutions in the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and a nationally recognized university.

The Library Collection includes annual reports, strategic plans, correspondence, photographs, and other materials from William Madison Randall Library. The library began in New Hanover High School. It moved twice before the university's first stand-alone library building opened in 1969, eventually becoming a research library for a major university.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Business Affairs Records consist of administrative records that document the growth, maintenance, operations, and financial administration of the university. The record group also contains information from Computer and Information Services, a department that originated as Academic Computing Services under Academic Affairs. Collection highlights are building dedication programs, financial reports, annual reports, newsletters, campus dining brochures, parking maps, public safety information, and long-range plans. The record group also has correspondence from Vice-Chancellors of Business Affairs and other administrators. Wilmington College moved to the campus on College Road in 1961, having previously used secondary school buildings in downtown Wilmington. In 1961, the school had just three buildings. Since joining the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969, the school has greatly expanded campus facilities, adding numerous buildings to the main and Myrtle Grove campuses.

Founded in 1947, Wilmington College became a four-year college in 1965, and then became part of the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969. University of North Carolina Wilmington Student Affairs Records include information about fraternities, sororities, the student government association, student media, student honorary societies, and other student organizations. The Division of Student Affairs oversees intramural and club sports, including football, as well as Transitions Programs, the office responsible for new student orientation and commencement. The Division manages many aspects of the college experience such as student housing, residential life, tutoring and learning services, health services, and disability services. Historic material includes administrators' correspondence, student government meeting minutes, commencement programs, newspapers, yearbooks, periodicals such as literary and creative magazines, departmental newsletters, administrative reports, student handbooks, Codes of Student Life, and marketing materials.

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

This manuscript collection contains information related to Dr. William Madison Randall's family and career from 1899 to 1972. Included are documents, correspondence, publications, newspaper articles and clippings, photographs and ephemera related to Randall's childhood, military career, career at UNCW, interest in languages and other scholarly pursuits. The collection also includes a tool belt and his graduation robes.

Dr. William H. Wagoner served as the Superintendent of the New Hanover county school system from 1961-1968, as the fourth President of Wilmington College from 1968-1969 and as the first Chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1969-1990. This collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, agendas, photographs, maps and ephemera related to the careers of Dr. Wagoner in Wilmington as well as his personal life.

This collection contains years of written records, including minutes of Trustee meetings, personal and Executive Committee correspondence, news clippings, concerning Wilmington College, and the transition to University status. Mr. Graham held the important position of Chairman, Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Wilmington College.

This collection contains papers and memorabilia related to Dr. Duncan Randall's personal and family life, his military career with the U.S. Air Force, his academic career as a professor at Wilmington College (now UNCW), and his personal and political interests. Materials include documents, correspondence, newspaper articles and clippings, a stamp collection, ephemera, artifacts, and photographs.

This collection contains materials pertaining to the career of Wayne Jackson, a broadcaster for southeastern North Carolina NBC television affiliate WECT (formerly WMFD). In particular, this collection documents three important events in Wilmington College history including the first televised basketball game in the region (that of the Virgina-Carolina Athletic Conference Junior College Basketball Tournament championship game), a dinner held for the Seahawks baseball team following their Junior College Baseball National Championship win, and the telecast of the first four-year graduation at the college.