UNCW & Wilmington College History -- Women & Gender

Administrative files from the office of Rosemary DePaolo, UNCW Chancellor from 2003-2011.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Department Records consist of administrative materials from academic departments of Wilmington College and the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Wilmington College began as a county-supported two-year college before becoming one of 16 constituent institutions in the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and a nationally recognized university. In 1979, the university created four colleges or schools as part of an administrative reorganization: the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Education, and the School of Nursing. Records include planning reports, annual reports, correspondence, departmental self-study reports, and departmental meeting minutes.

Founded in 1947, Wilmington College became a four-year college in 1965, and then became part of the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969. University of North Carolina Wilmington Student Affairs Records include information about fraternities, sororities, the student government association, student media, student honorary societies, and other student organizations. The Division of Student Affairs oversees intramural and club sports, including football, as well as Transitions Programs, the office responsible for new student orientation and commencement. The Division manages many aspects of the college experience such as student housing, residential life, tutoring and learning services, health services, and disability services. Historic material includes administrators' correspondence, student government meeting minutes, commencement programs, newspapers, yearbooks, periodicals such as literary and creative magazines, departmental newsletters, administrative reports, student handbooks, Codes of Student Life, and marketing materials.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Athletics Records contains departmental information as well as information from men's and women's team sports offices. Although Wilmington College also had student athletes involved in intercollegiate sports, most of the information in this collection dates from after the Wilmington College period. In 1969, Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and became
UNC Wilmington. Departmental records include certification and self-study reports for the National Collegiate Athletic Association, newsletters, press releases, athletic directors' correspondence, and legal information about Title IX. Team records include programs, media guides, and schedules. Teams represented in this record group are baseball, basketball, cheerleading, cross country/track and field, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, volleyball, and wrestling.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection consists of biographical data sheets, photographs, announcements, brochures, and other material collected for public and media relations offices. The collection has information about faculty, staff, administrators, members of the Board of Trustees and several presidents and chancellors. The collection also includes unique research and scholarly writings by faculty.

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

These papers contain the association's records, photographs, brochures, and related memorabilia, as well as documents belonging to alumni from their time of attendance.

Scrapbooks, newspaper articles, brochures, catalogs, announcements, videotapes, photographs and slides relating to career of artist Billie Ruth Sudduth.

This collection contains the papers of Bertha Boykin Todd, a long-time New Hanover County educator and community leader. Content focuses on her work with the 1898 Centennial Foundation, biographical information and research for her memoir, "My Restless Journey," speeches and notes for events at which she spoke, recordings of her media appearances, and articles and correspondence related to her community engagement and work with the New Hanover County School system, highlighting her time as the librarian at Williston High School and as an administrator at Hoggard High School. Additional material speaks specifically to local school desegregation, the succeeding school riots, the Wilmington 10 incident, and Bertha's involvement in dampening racial tensions at the time. Also of note are items related to her many awards and accolades at the local and state level, as well as broad newspaper coverage of her work in the community and schools.