Humanities Librarian
Finding Scripts in Randall Library Databases
- Drama OnlineA digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."
- Black Drama: Third Edition1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Searching for Scripts in the Library's Catalog
You can search for scripts by title or author in the library's main search, but you can also browse the catalog by script category using the links below. If Randall Library doesn't have the script available, use interlibrary loan to request a copy.
Browsing for Scripts on the Library's Shelves
Below are the Library of Congress call number ranges that likely include scripts. Go to the corresponding area of the library's general collection (2nd floor) to browse the shelves.
- Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307
- The Monologue: PN1530
- The Dialogue: PN1551
- Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307
- By time period: PN2131-2193
- Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120
- French Literature: PQ500-2726
- Authors: PQ1411-2726
- Drama Collections: PQ1211-1241
- Italian Literature: PQ4133-4926
- Drama Collections: PQ4227-4245
- Authors: PQ4265-4926
- Spanish Literature: PQ6098.7-6726
- Drama Collections: PQ6217-6241
- Authors: PQ6271-6726
- English Literature: PR621-6126
- Drama Collections: PR1241-1273
- Authors: PR1490-6126
- American Literature: PS330-3626
- Drama Collections: PS623-635
- Authors: PS700-3626
- German Literature: PT605-2728
- Drama Collections: PT1251-1299
- Authors: PT1501-2728
- Greek Literature: PA3050-4505
- Authors: PA3818-4505
- Sophocles: PA4413-4434
- Authors: PA3818-4505
Finding Scripts Outside of Randall Library
If Randall Library doesn't have the script available, use interlibrary loan to request a copy.
- DoolleeAn online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956.
- Dramatists Play ServiceSearch engine for finding plays based on type of play, genre, by gender, etc.
- National Theatre Black Plays ArchiveThe Black Plays Archive, supported by Sustained Theatre and Arts Council England, is an online catalogue for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain.