LibGuides: UNCW College of Health and Human Services History: Scholarly Sources & More

Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.

Seahawk DOCKS
Seahawk DOCKS is UNCW's portion of a shared database called North Carolina Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship (NC DOCKS). Designed by UNC Greensboro and shared with UNCG, East Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and UNC Pembroke, NC DOCKS is designed to hold digital, online copies of faculty articles, white papers, and other scholarly works, in addition to student theses and dissertations. This type of database is often referred to as an "Institutional Repository," or IR.
UNCW Honors Project Papers
Honors Project papers produced by students who have completed the seniors honors project at UNCW through the Honors College
UNCW Theses & Dissertations
UNCW Theses, Dissertations, Honors Papers and Special Projects searchable through the Library Catalog.

Healthcare in Regional History

The Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History (CSENCAH) presents this subject guide for healthcare history in Southeast North Carolina. Listed below the subject guide are additional resources on the history of medicine in the SENC region.

Babies Hospital
Published in NCPedia, 2006
Sidbury, James Buren (1886-1967)
NCPedia biographical article (written in 1994) about James Buren Sidbury, M.D., physician and pioneer in the establishment of pediatrics as a medical specialty. Born in Holly Shelter, N.C. Founder of Babies Hospital near Wrightsville Beach, Dr. Sidbury also established its research center, which later grew to include a marine biomedical research lab acquired by UNC Wilmington in 1971.
Burnett-Eaton Museum Foundation
The Burnett-Eaton Museum Foundation is located in the heart of the Wilmington, NC Historic District. The museum welcomes an inclusive learning environment and is charged with the responsibility for preserving history. It is through exhibits, archives, publications, events, lectures, artifacts, and antiquities by which stories are told. The museum collaborates with its community and other organizations to promote understanding and appreciation of diverse heritage in New Hanover County and abroad.

More Research

To find scholarly articles by faculty and researchers in the College of Health and Human Services, you can search Randall Library's subscription databases. See also these related subject guides for related areas.

CHHS on the Web

UNCW College of Health and Human Services
Website for the UNCW College of Health and Human Services, founded in 2008, which combines three professional schools: the School of Health and Applied Human Sciences, the School of Nursing, and the School of Social Work.