Humanities Librarian
Find Scholarly Articles
- Religion DatabaseThis database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more detailed information.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index RetrospectiveOffers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more. Find more information.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Find Images
The resources below include images of artwork, historical photographs, and historical or material culture artifacts.
- ARTstor Digital LibraryAs of August 1, 2024 the Artstor platform has been retired and its content migrated to JSTOR, where Artstor content and key functionality can be accessed. All Artstor users can use their existing Artstor accounts to access Artstor on JSTOR.
- The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryFeaturing items from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection, the Timeline can be explored by region and period, including images and essays on specific topics within each region and period.
- The Material Objects Archive (MAVCOR)Produced and curated by the Yale Center for the Study of Material & Visual Cultures of Religion, the Material Objects Archive is a collection of images of material objects related to religion.
- The Art Museums of Colonial WilliamsburgImages and information on the art collections of the Museums of Colonial Williamsburg. Included are exceptional examples of American and British ceramics, glass, furniture, textiles, costumes, tools, firearms, numismatics, metals, toys, prints, maps, paintings, drawings and architectural fragments from the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries, as well as American folk art up to the present day.
- The Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts (MESDA)The collection of the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts at Old Salem is the most the comprehensive collection of objects made and used in the early American South.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogThe Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.
Find Newspaper Articles
- America's Historical NewspapersEarly American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. The collections feature more than 6,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Find more information.
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper CollectionFind historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700's–2000's.
- Newspapers and Magazines (Historical)A guide containing all of Randall Library's most vital historical newspaper and magazine databases and resources.