LibGuides: PAR 355: Southern Religion: Home

Get Started: Suggested Resources

You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the most frequently used resources for finding scholarly articles, primary sources from Randall Library's Special Collections, primary sources from other organizations, and more.

Find Scholarly Articles

Religion Database
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more detailed information.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.

Search for Books

Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.

Find Primary Sources

There are many different kinds of primary sources, and you can access them both through the library's resources and through other institutions. Below is a small selection of resources for finding things like historical newspaper articles, images, letters, and more; you can find far more by exploring the other tabs on this page.

Randall Library - Special Collections
Here are our collection's manuscript finding aids and information about using Special Collections. Links to finding aids are also in the library catalog.

ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Find more information.
Register for a free user account to download images.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Find historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700's–2000's.

PAR 355: Southern Religion

Humanities Librarian

Need Help?

Get Started: Suggested Resources

Find Scholarly Articles

Search for Books

Find Primary Sources