LibGuides: UNCW College of Arts and Sciences History: Background, Digital Collections, Publications

Best Bets

UNCW Randall Library Digital Collections
The library's digital collections offer digitized artifacts, art, diaries, letters, newspapers, photographs, oral histories, publications, and reports. These collections focus on the history of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as the history of Southeast North Carolina and the Lower Cape Fear Region.
UNCW Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History (CSENCAH)
Discover archival materials, books, and media about history, culture, and government in Southeast North Carolina, along with other subjects in regional studies. The Center also contains the archives of the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

College of Arts & Sciences Digital Collection
Magazines and newsletters published by the College of Arts and Sciences for alumni, friends, and the UNCW community.

Background

UNCW College of Arts and Sciences [archived website]
The College of Arts and Sciences was a comprehensive academic division at the University of North Carolina Wilmington comprising the arts, the humanities, the mathematical and natural sciences, and the social and behavioral sciences. In 2023, UNCW's largest academic college became two units: the College of Humanities, Social Sciences, & the Arts and the College of Science & Engineering.

Administrative History

Initially there was one Dean for Wilmington College, followed by an Academic Dean or Dean of Faculty for all of UNC Wilmington.

Wilmington College Deans

Dale Spencer 1947-1948
R. C. Beemon 1948-1952
William M. Randall 1952-1958
J. Marshall Crews 1958-1964

University of North Carolina Wilmington Deans

J. Paul Reynolds, Dean of Faculty 1964-1971
Charles L. Cahill, Dean of Faculty, 1971-1973*
Daniel B. Plyler, Academic Dean, 1976-1979

*From 1973-1976, Charles Cahill was Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs, and there were two Assistant Deans – Daniel B. Plyler and James K. McGowan. UNC Wilmington reorganized Academic Affairs in 1979, creating the College of Arts and Sciences and the Schools of Education, Business Administration, and Nursing. Daniel B. Plyler, Wilmington College biology professor since 1966, was the first College of Arts and Sciences Dean.

Deans of the College of Arts and Sciences

Daniel B. Plyler

Daniel B. Plyler was Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1979-1989 and UNCW Academic Dean from 1976-1979.

Carolyn H. Simmons

Carolyn H. Simmons was Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1990-1995.

Jo Ann M. Seiple

Jo Ann M. Seiple was Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1996-2004. She had previously served as Acting Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1989-1990

P. Nelson Reid

P. Nelson Reid was Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2004-2005.

David P. Cordle

David P. Cordle was Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2005-2013.

Stephen McNamee

Stephen McNamee was Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2013-2014.

Aswani Volety

Aswani Volety was Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2014-2019. Here he is photographed in 2018. He returned to the University as Chancellor in 2022.

Richard L. Ogle

Richard L. Ogle was Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2019 August - 2021 June.

Kemille Moore

Kemille Moore was Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, 2021 June-July.

Michelle Scatton-Tessier

Michelle Scatton-Tessier was Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, 2021 August - 2023 June.

More Digital Collections

"The Fledgling" - UNCW's Student Yearbook, 1950-1989
Contains 38 digital copies of "The Fledgling," UNCW's student yearbook, from 1950-1989.
Academic Catalogues
Published annually, the catalogue has course descriptions and graduation requirements. It has historically included biographies of presidents and chancellors, building descriptions, calendars, campus traditions, maps, photographs, student fees, and tuition rates.
Office of Research and Innovation Digital Collection
Long recognized as one of the world’s leading marine science research institutions, the University of North Carolina Wilmington claims significant research achievements across academic disciplines. This digital collection has publications about research and innovation at UNCW.
Seahawk Student Newspaper Digital Collection
"The student paper of UNCW, established 1948."
UNCW Board of Trustees Digital Collection
Board Meeting Minutes, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes, and other documents from the institution's governing body from 1958--Present

Published Works

Here are books and publications related to the College of Arts and Sciences. This list includes UNCW histories, digital publications, books from the Publishing Lab, and university-published journals. Also listed are examples of interdisciplinary works by students and faculty.

Books in Randall Library

Best Practices in University Teaching by Caroline Clements (Editor)
Call Number: LB2331 .B49 2006
Civic Discoveries: Words and Images from the Brown v. Board of Education Learning Community
Call Number: LC212.5 .C58 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Giving Flight to Imagination: 70 Years of Excellence by Thomas R. Hart
Call Number: LD3962.9 .H37 2017
ISBN: 9780692926734
Publication Date: 2017-10-25
From These Beginnings: Wilmington College, 1946-1969 by J. Marshall Crews, edited by Mary Duex Dodson
Call Number: LD3973 .C7 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Also available online
The Art of Living: Words and Images from ENG 496 and PAR 400
Call Number: PS608.C6 A2 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Digital Publications

UNCW Seahawk Stories: 70 Years of Excellence
"In partnership with the StarNews, it is with great pleasure that we bring you this special keepsake of our university's 70th anniversary. We are so happy to have this opportunity to share the stories of just a few Seahawks who have made UNCW what it is, then and now" --Chancellor Jose V. Sartarelli p. [3].
Soaring to Greatness
This publication was produced for the Office of the Chancellor by the UNCW Office of Marketing and Communications in 2007. It includes photographs of students and administrators.

Department of Creative Writing

Lookout Books
Founded in 2009 by publisher Emily Louise Smith and editor emeritus Ben George as the literary book imprint of the Department of Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina Wilmington, Lookout seeks out emerging and historically underrepresented voices, as well as overlooked gems by established writers. In a publishing landscape increasingly indifferent to literary innovation, Lookout offers a haven for books that matter. Publications by Lookout Books can be found in Randall Library.
UNCW: Publishing Laboratory
Integral to the Department of Creative Writing, The Publishing Laboratory incorporates into the apprenticeship of creative writers an applied learning experience in the process by which literary manuscripts, including their own, are designed, shaped, and edited into books and published to a wide audience of readers. Works from the Publishing Laboratory are available in Randall Library.

Journals from CAS Departments

Chautauqua Literary Journal
A joint effort of the Department of Creative Writing at UNCW and the Chautauqua Institution
Ecotone
Writing and art magazine focused on place-based works. Founded at UNCW in 2005.
Film Matters
Edited and managed by UNCW Film Studies, this peer-reviewed academic journal features top scholarship by undergraduate students and other new scholars from around the world.
Journal of Applied Analysis & Computation
This journal includes original research papers in mathematics and computation. It is jointly managed by professors at Shanghai Normal University and the University of North Carolina Wilmington
Palaver: UNCW’s Interdisciplinary Journal
Published by UNCW’s Graduate Liberal Studies program

Subject Headings

The following subject headings will guide you to resources relating to the College of Arts and Sciences. You may need to add geographical terms as keywords to narrow down a broad subject heading. For example, try modifying your search string to include "North Carolina" as a keyword phrase in addition to the standard subject heading "College teaching."

College students’ writings, American -- North Carolina -- Wilmington
College teaching
Degrees, Academic
Graduate students
Education, Humanistic
Public universities and colleges
Service learning
Universities and colleges -- Departments
Undergraduates
Universities and colleges -- Administration
University of North Carolina, Wilmington -- Literary collections

UNCW College of Arts and Sciences History

Contact the Center

Visit the Center

Location

Hours

Access Policies