LibGuides: UNCW College of Arts and Sciences History: Oral Histories & Archives

Oral Histories

These are recorded interviews with former administrators in Academic Affairs and the College of Arts and Sciences. For other oral histories relating to UNCW, see the Voices of UNCW series of interview (listed first), or search all Oral Histories, listed last.

Voices of UNCW
Created by University Archives, this series has interviews and interview transcripts with faculty, staff, students, and alumni of Wilmington College and UNCW
Interview with Charles Cahill (Oral History)
Charles Cahill discusses his life and career, with a focus on his 22 years as Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs and Provost of UNC-Wilmington. Dr. Cahill came to UNCW from Oklahoma. As provost, he oversaw much activity on campus, such as the hiring of new faculty members including Deans and department chairs. He also oversaw the construction of new campus buildings and worked with donors and the General Administration of UNC to support UNCW's growth. Dr. Cahill remained a fan of university athletics throughout his career. After serving in senior administration, Dr. Cahill taught in his home department of chemistry for several years prior to retirement.
Interview with Daniel B. Plyler (Oral History)
Dr. Daniel B. Plyler discusses his career at UNC-Wilmington. Dr. Plyler came to Wilmington College in the Fall of 1966 to teach in the biology department. He discusses the various roles he has held, including that of biology professor, department chair, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, academic Dean, and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. He was also the first director of the Marine Science program. Dr. Plyler began the phased retirement program in 1999, and then officially retired in 2001. Contact the Center for Southeast NC Archives & History for access to this interview.
Interview with John Stokes (Oral History)
Interview with Dr. John Stokes, Professor of English at UNCW and former Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.
Interview with Marvin K. Moss (Oral History)
Interview with Marvin Moss, former Provost and Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs at UNCW. Contact the Center for Southeast NC Archives & History for access to this interview.
Interview with Melton McLaurin (Oral History)
In this oral history interview, Melton McLaurin discusses his career in academics. Dr. McLaurin was hired as chair of the UNCW history department, a position that he held until 1991. He discusses the department during this time of growth at the university, the beginning of the graduate program in history, his teaching, and his research. In 1996 Dr. McLaurin became associate vice-chancellor for academic affairs. Although he retired in 2002, he continued his association with the university, serving in various roles. Most recently he organized a video documentary project about the Montford Pointe Marines. The interview includes Dr. McLaurin's reflections on what he envisions for the future of UNCW and the future of humanities in the university setting.
Randall Library Oral History Collection
Transcriptions of oral history interviews. The collection's categories are Voices of UNCW, Southeast North Carolina, Arts, and Military.

University Archives

Archives and manuscript collections contain original primary source material and unpublished records concerning an individual, family, or organization. Here are some collections related to the College of Arts and Sciences, located in the Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives & History (CSENCAH), Randall Library.

University Archives is undergoing a collection reorganization. As the reorganization progresses, additional information will be added to this guide. At any time, please contact the Center for Southeast NC Archives & History (CSENCAH) at UNCW Randall Library for assistance.

University Archives
University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.
RG-02 University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees Records
The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.
RG-03 University of North Carolina Wilmington Presidents and Chancellors Records
This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.
RG-04 University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Affairs Records
The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.
RG-13 Public Service and Continuing Studies Collection
The Public Service and Continuing Studies Collection contains records pertaining to public service, extended education, and continuing studies at the University of North Carolina Wilmington beginning in 1970. This collection includes materials on arts events and initiatives, including Celebrate Wilmington, the Say Amen Gospel Concert, and summer arts festivals.
RG-24 Images of UNCW Collection
This collection brings together color and black-and-white prints, slides and negatives, many of which were used in campus publications such as the yearbook, student newspaper, course catalogs, and alumni publications. Topics include athletics, the campus, student life, academics, presidents, and chancellors, from the 1940s through the early 2000s.

Other CSENCAH Collections

MS 102 Doug Swink Theater Collection
This collection contains theatre professor Doug Swink's memorabilia from his tenure as a Wilmington College faculty member during the 1960s. Included in the collection are slides, performance programs and tickets, photographs, newspaper clippings, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings, as well as theatre news, both on and off campus.
MS 159 Paul Wilkes Collection
This collection contains the papers, records, research, teachings, and publications of writer Paul Wilkes.
MS 188 Dr. James Merritt Collection
Dr. James F. Merritt, former Professor and Director Emeritus of the Center for Marine Science, dedicated 34 years at UNCW to conducting and facilitating research in the coastal environment. This collection includes materials related to the Marine Expo in Wilmington, N.C., an educational convention that brought together and focused on marine activities in the region. Dr. Merritt helped to organize the event and served as chairman of the first Marine Expo.
MS 197 David Lindquist Personal Papers
This collection contains class lectures, research, experiments, various publications, photographs and other information dealing with Lindquist's career.
MS 332 Dr. Walter H. Conser Jr. Papers
This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events. The collection also contains various correspondence, academic and professional papers of scholars Sumner B. Twiss, William G. McLoughlin, and Gene Sharp. Additionally donated were over 100 books, primarily regarding nonviolence, and 13 phonograph records from the 1960s and 70s.
more...less...
These materials are especially useful to persons studying issues relating to Native Americans, nonviolent action, civilian-based defense, Western religious history and specifically religious history of the American Southeast.

UNCW College of Arts and Sciences History

Oral Histories

University Archives

University Archives is undergoing a collection reorganization. As the reorganization progresses, additional information will be added to this guide. At any time, please contact the Center for Southeast NC Archives & History (CSENCAH) at UNCW Randall Library for assistance.

Other CSENCAH Collections

CSENCAH Subject Guides