Music Research

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
The world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music, currently available in beta.
This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Originally compiled by Richard Parrillo, entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.

Music Theory Online is a journal of criticism, commentary, research and scholarship. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.

Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name.

This guide which links you to Yale University Oral History of American Music collection highlights the voices of people of color represented in OHAM's oral histories, with a focus on African-American figures and music, as well as those whose work has been influenced by and/or shaped African American music from the early twentieth century through today.

Open music encyclopedia that collects music metadata for public access.

Bibliography from the Gaylord Music Library.

The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages, including almost 14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs from the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970.

Resource for writings on music and music theory before 1800. Includes over 2000 digital scan entries.

Guide detailing the Chicago/Turbian citation style within the field of music. Includes citation instruction for M3s, the collected editions of composers, as well as musical sources such as texts, scores, and recordings.

Guide detailing the Chicago/Turbian citation style within the field of music. Includes citation instruction for musical sources such as texts, scores, and recordings.