Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Article Databases
- Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Oxford Music Online
For general, non-scholarly articles on a variety of music topics, try searching in the Oxford Music Online search box below.
Recommended Music Indexes and Bibliographies
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included. Find more detailed information.
- Music IndexFeaturing digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Recommended Audio Subscriptions
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month. Find more information.
- Music & Performing ArtsSearchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Recommended Video Subscriptions
- Met Opera On DemandEnjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
- Digital Theatre PlusDigital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework. Includes an extensive repertoire of award-winning, acclaimed theatre, music and dance performances. Interviews and conversations with leading industry figures. Detailed historical, social and political context guides that encourage engagement with the language, form and structure of plays.
Recommended Journals
Recommended Research Books
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Part 1 Media, Industry, Society by Call Number: ML102.P66 C66 2003
Recommended Books on Writing About Music
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .D76 2010
Recommended Websites
- Doctoral Dissertations in MusicologyDoctoral Dissertations in Musicology is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
The world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music, currently available in beta.
This application is a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Originally compiled by Richard Parrillo, entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995. - Music Theory OnlineMusic Theory Online is a journal of criticism, commentary, research and scholarship. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
While searching for music items in the stacks on the second floor, keep this in mind:
M = the music itself (i.e. scores, printed music, recordings)
ML = books about music history and literature
MT = books about music theory, music education, and instruction and study (including many method books)