LibGuides: THR 165: Dramatic Heritage: Study And Analysis Of Plays: Databases

Recommended Databases

These databases also include book chapters, conference presentations, and more.

Search tips:

Search multi-word phrases (like play titles) in quotation marks
- Sample search: “the birthday party” pinter
Don't see any articles about your specific play? Try searching for play's author.
Don’t see the full text?
- Click “Get it from UNCW”
- If the full text doesn’t appear, talk to a librarian about getting it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Start by searching our Quick Article Search:
Limit results to “Scholarly & Peer-Review"

Didn't find what you were looking for with the quick search (above)? Try these other databases:

ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. Find more detailed information.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

Didn't find what you were looking for using the databases listed above? Try the additional article databases listed on the general "Theatre Research Guide."

Theatre
by Shira Pilarski Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 141 views this year

Recommended Performance Reviews

If allowed by your instructor as a source, the Times (London) and New York Times newspapers (below) are excellent sources for professional reviews of theatre productions. For other sources of reviews, see the "Performance Reviews" research guide.

New York Times
NYTimes.com contains most of the articles that appear in the printed New York Times paper, as well as a wealth of blogs, interactive features, videos and other web-only content. Find more information.
Once you create an account, you can log in from any computer and the NY Times mobile app. Faculty and staff users have to re-register every four years while on campus or connected to the VPN. Please contact us if you need help.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. An important resource for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Get a Copy of Your Script

If you already have a copy of your script, you can skip this section!

One place to try is "Drama Online," a large database of play scripts available electronically:

Drama Online
A digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."
Our access privileges do not include all play texts, or the audio plays or filmed productions. If a particular play text is unavailable, request a copy via ILL at https://library.uncw.edu/ill

Another way to find scripts is to try searching the library catalog:

Search by the play's title, or
Search by the author (if you haven't picked a specific play yet).

-> Are you a distance education student? Have print books mailed to you.

If the play still isn't available, you can easily place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for the book.