Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Databases
These databases also include book chapters, conference presentations, and more.
Search tips:
- Search multi-word phrases (like play titles) in quotation marks
- Sample search: “the birthday party” pinter
- Don't see any articles about your specific play? Try searching for play's author.
- Don’t see the full text?
- Click “Get it from UNCW”
- If the full text doesn’t appear, talk to a librarian about getting it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Start by searching our Quick Article Search:
Limit results to “Scholarly & Peer-Review"
Didn't find what you were looking for with the quick search (above)? Try these other databases:
- ProQuest CentralThis database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. Find more detailed information.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Recommended Performance Reviews
If allowed by your instructor as a source, the Times (London) and New York Times newspapers (below) are excellent sources for professional reviews of theatre productions. For other sources of reviews, see the "Performance Reviews" research guide.
- New York TimesNYTimes.com contains most of the articles that appear in the printed New York Times paper, as well as a wealth of blogs, interactive features, videos and other web-only content. Find more information.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Search the Library Catalog
Use the search box below to look for books about your play, copy of your script, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.