LibGuides: Gulf Oil Spill Resources: Home

Starting Points

Restore the Gulf
The official federal portal for the Deepwater BP oil spill response and recovery. This site provides the public with information on the response, current operations, news and updates, how to file a claim and obtain other assistance, and links to federal, state and local partners. Also included is a response timeline, statistics, maps and data, dispersent letters, among others.
Resources on Oil Spills, Response, and Restoration: A Selected Bibliography (PDF)
Prepared by NOAA in response to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster in the Gulf of Mexico and information on previous spills and associated remedial actions. The bibliography includes information sources concerned both with the harmful effects of oil and chemical spills to marine habitats and their associated living marine resources and with the cultural and economic impacts caused by such spills.

Recommended Databases

EBSCOHost
UNCW subscribes to many EBSCO databases, including America: History & Life, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text, Historical Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and SPORTDiscus with Full Text. Several databases may be searched at once. Full text articles are offered in both HTML and PDF format on thousands of titles.
EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. This database contains more than one million records, with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics. Find more information.
Web of Science
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in anthropology, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, criminology, education, environmental sciences, geography, geology, marine sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, psychology, social work, sociology, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Find more detailed information.

Datasets, Maps & Imagery

NODC Support Resources for the Deepwater Horizon Incident
Access to archived Deepwater Horizon data, climatology data, ocean currents data, coastal ecosystem maps, ocean profile data, and a selected bibliography from the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC). Also included are links to Gulf of Mexico historial data and information, and recent incident-related news.

Gulf Oil Spill Resources