LibGuides: Healthcare Administration: Articles

Recommended Healthcare Databases

PubMED
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
In January 2024 Randall Library upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate from CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Health & Medical Collection
Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more information.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.

Recommended Business Databases

Consider broadening your search to business databases like these to find material from marketing, industry, and business research that includes healthcare settings.

ABI/INFORM Collection
The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Find more information.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. The database includes more than 27,000 videos from Harvard Business Publishing, IGI Global, Kiplinger Washington Editors, the Academy of Management and other top providers, as well as more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. The Company View feature allows users to view detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. The Content in Context feature allows students to investigate a company through contextual access to related information including SWOT analyses, case studies, industry profiles, market research reports, and more.

Selected Healthcare Administration Journals

These journals are key resources for scholarly and peer-reviewed material in the field of healthcare administration. Skip the databases and browse or search the journals directly using the links below.

Frontiers of Health Services Management
Drawing from the diverse expertise of invited contributors, this quarterly journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives presents in-depth case studies and commentaries with solutions to help leaders advance organizational performance and improve patient care.
Health Services and Outcomes Research Methodology
This journal addresses the needs of interlocking communities: methodologists in statistics, econometrics, social and behavioral sciences; designers and analysts of health policy and health services research projects; and health care providers and policy makers who need to properly understand and evaluate the results of published research.
Journal of Healthcare Management
The Journal of Healthcare Management (JHM) is an official journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE). Published bimonthly, JHM is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to providing healthcare leaders with the information they need to manage complex healthcare issues and to make effective strategic decisions.
The International Journal of Health Planning and Management
The aim of this journal is to offer a forum for publications which direct attention to major issues in health policy, planning and management. The intention is to maintain a balance between theory and practice, from a variety of disciplines, fields and perspectives.
Journal for Healthcare Quality
Publishes scholarly articles that are targeted to leaders of all healthcare settings, leveraging applied research and producing practical, timely and impactful evidence in healthcare system transformation. The journal covers topics such as: quality improvement, patient safety, performance measurement, best practices in clinical and operational processes, innovation, leadership, information technology, spreading improvement, sustaining improvement, cost reduction, and payment reform.

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Corporate Strategy & Business Policy Research Network
Open access repository for research on how an entity defines their business and how they plan to reach their goals via the areas of change management, diversification strategy and policy, and firm performance enhancement among others.
Corporate Governance Network
Repository for scholarship on the study of corporate governance including the organization of family firms to the management of multinational corporations.
Health Economics Network
Repository for scholarship at the intersection of economics and health-related issues, examining how scarce resources are allocated to improve health and acquire care.
Information Systems & eBusiness Network
Open access repository for research into economic values of ICT, design and performance issues of information systems, effects and implications of Internet technologies on business and commerce, as well as behavioral and social methods studies.

Healthcare Administration

Health and Human Services Librarian

Need Help?

Related Guides

Welcome!

Recommended Healthcare Databases

Recommended Business Databases

Selected Healthcare Administration Journals

Open Access Repositories