International Law and Dispute Resolution

The Economic Structure of International Law presents a rationalist analysis of the structure of international law. It employs social scientific techniques to develop an understanding of the role of law in international society. In doing so, it delves into the question of compliance and reveals the real-world circumstances under which states might adhere to or violate international law. Joel P. Trachtman explores such topics as treaty-making and jurisdiction; the rise, stability, and efficiency of custom; the establishment of international organizations; and the structure and role of international legal dispute settlement. At the core of the book lies the question of the allocation of legal power to states. The Economic Structure of International Law presents policymakers and scholars with an over-arching analytical model of international law, one that demonstrates the potential of international law, but also explains how policymakers should choose among different international legal structures.

International law is playing an increasingly important role in international politics. However, international relations theorists have thus far failed to conceptualise adequately the role that law plays in politics. Instead, IR theorists have tended to operate with a limited conception of law. An understanding of jurisprudence and legal methodology is a crucial step towards achieving a better account of international law in IR theory. But many of the flaws in IR's idea of law stem also from the theoretical foundations of constructivism - the school of thought which engages most frequently with law. In this book, Adriana Sinclair rehabilitates IR theory's understanding of law, using cases studies from American, English and international law to critically examine contemporary constructivist approaches to IR and show how a gap in their understanding of law has led to inadequate theorisation.

For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. This book will also be available online as an e-reference on the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf. Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (over a 20% increase in content from the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: Legal terms as used in international law Significant doctrines Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration Important incidents Judicial and literary figures Treaties and conventions Organizations and institutions Acronyms

Updated in its 9th edition, Understanding Global Conflict and Cooperation is a concise and penetrating introduction to world politics in an era of complex interdependence. This text employs lessons from theory and history to examine conflict and cooperating among global actors and thus to provide readers with a durable analytical framework. From twentieth and twenty-first century wars to global finance and global governance, Understanding Global Conflict and Cooperation, expands substantially on a classic work and continues to deliver a thought-provoking survey of international relations today.

The introductions to each section of this text set the intellectual context of the following material, surveying the major points that will be made. The readings reflect the major debate in international relations concerning the possible diminishing role of the state.

This is the eighth edition of Sir Ian Brownlie's classic distillation of public international law. Serving as a single volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book seeks to present international law as a system that is based on, and helps structure, relations among states and other entities at the international level. It aims to identify the constituent elements of that system in a clear and accessible fashion. This eighth edition, fully updated by James Crawford, Whewell Professor of International Law at the University of Cambridge, continues to provide the balance, clarity and expertise expected from this classic text. Completely updated to take account of the many areas of expansion and development in international law which have occurred since earlier editions, all chapters have been reviewed and brought up to date. The eighth edition features a new introduction and the chapters on environmental law, immunities, responsibility, use of force and high seas freedoms have been substantially rewritten. It remains an important textbook for students, undergraduate and graduate, treating core issues from a lawyer's perspective. It is also a vade mecum for practitioners desiring a solid footing on which to make further enquiries.

Regional transformation has emerged as a major topic of research during the past few decades, much of it seeking to understand how a region changes into a zone of conflict or cooperation and how and why some regions remain in perpetual conflict. Although the leading theoretical paradigms of international relations have something to say about regional order, a comprehensive treatment of this subject is missing from the literature. This book suggests that cross-paradigmatic engagement on regional orders can be valuable if it can generate theoretically innovative, testable propositions and policy-relevant ideas. The book brings together scholars from the dominant IR perspectives aiming to explain the regional order issue through multidimensional and multi-causal pathways and seeking meeting points between them. Using insights from IR theory, the contributors offer policy-relevant ideas which may benefit conflict-ridden regions of the world.

Cases in International Relations challenges students to use international relations theory to understand the most current and pressing issues facing the world.   Designed to complement the main themes of any introductory course, this bestselling text presents 16 original case studies that survey the state of the international system and look in-depth at issues of current interest. Cases in International Relations offers more than a collection of journal articles; it provides a coherent and accessible approach that encourages students to put international relations concepts to practical use.

This popular text for courses on international organizations and international relations provides a comprehensive yet accessible introduction to the United Nations, exploring the historical, institutional, and theoretical foundations of the UN as well as the political processes and issues facing the organization today. Thoroughly revised throughout, the fourth edition focuses on major events since 2006, including the influence of emerging powers such as China, India, and Brazil, the crisisin UN peacekeeping, and the continuing decline of the UN's relevance in international economic relations. This edition also includes a new chapter on the future of the United Nations, as well as new case studies on peacekeeping in the Democratic Republic of Congo, human trafficking, and the challenges of state building for human security in Haiti. Helpful student resources include the Charter of the United Nations, a list of acronyms, suggested resources for additional research and reading, and a glossary.

Individuals, groups, and societies all experience conflict, and attempt to resolve it in numerous ways. This Handbook brings together scholars from multiple disciplines to offer perspectives on the current state and future challenges in negotiation and conflict resolution. It will serve as an aid to scholars in identifying new research topics, provide a guide to current debates, and identify complementarities between approaches taken by different disciplines and the insights which those approaches generate. Leading researchers of economics, psychology, organizational behavior, policy, and other fields have contributed chapters. The volume is organized to purposefully juxtapose contributions from different fields to enable cross-fertilization between the disciplines and to generate new and creative approaches to studying the topic. These chapters provide a lens into current scholarship, and a window into the future of the field of economic conflict resolution. The confluence of research perspectives represented will identify further synergies and advances in our understanding of this topic.

The eagerly awaited new edition of this highly-popular text continues to be the most lucid and engaging book available on conflict resolution and peace agreements. Peter Wallensteen, a renowned academic in the field, draws on recent research and examples from around the world, linking the theory of conflict resolution to real-world cases throughout the book. NEW to the third edition: * Expanded coverage of the making of peace agreements, including peace and justice, disarmament, and gender-peace connections * Coverage of the actions of the Obama administration * Explores the ongoing situations in Afghanistan, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan, the Cote D′Ivoire, Iran, Pakistan and the Arab democratic wave from a conflict resolution perspective * Updated coverage of the continuing ′war on terror′. * Attention is given to the comparison of different outcomes, whether negotiated between parties or victory of one over the other with references to Sri Lanka, the Middle East, and Liberia. Understanding Conflict Resolution remains an essential text for all students, lecturers and researchers of peace and conflict resolution in international relations, global politics and political science.