International Studies

Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Find more information.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups. HRAF is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. Its mission is to provide information that facilitates the cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture. As a multicultural database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, parks and recreation, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity. This multi-cultural database provides you with in-depth information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Each culture or ethnic group contains a variety of source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized.

Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more. Find more information.

Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center.

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.

Provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids, as well as a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection provides access to one of television’s most trusted networks.

Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more detailed information.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched an internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.

A comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. Includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.

Database of country profiles produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.World History in Context is cross-searchable with U.S. History in Context.

Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Find more detailed information.