National Security Policy

Since the tragic events of September 11, 2001, the topic of national security has never been of broader concern to all Americans. Rarely have we felt as threatened as we do in our current security environment. With over 750 entries, the Encyclopedia of United States National Security is the first single, concise reference source to provide accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when, and where national security has evolved. In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses, this two-volume encyclopedia is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security. A thoroughly interdisciplinary work, this Encyclopedia views national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives. Key Features Examines the full range of contemporary weapons systems including air, sea, and land warfare; ballistic missile defense; space weapons; stealth technology; antisubmarine warfare; and biological weapons Explores much more than the use of force as protection by introducing competing paradigms, such as economic and diplomatic tools in security strategy Includes excerpts from treaties, speeches, and other sources and provides an overview of important events such as scandals and breaches of national security Offers a close look at the leaders and thinkers that shaped U.S. security policy as well as individuals who have had the greatest impact upon U.S. national security Key Themes Armed Forces and Other Defenders Alliances, Pacts, and Treaties Armaments and Weapons Systems Concepts and Theories Decision Makers and Others Key Events Movements Military Hardware Military and Non-Military Strategy Organizations, Institutions, and Groups Places Politics and Policy Special Populations Technology  Wars and Warfare The Encyclopedia of United States National Security encourages curiosity about international affairs and, in particular, the long list of issues that affect our national security. A first of its kind, this encyclopedia is a must-have resource for all school, community, and academic libraries.

The official report that has shaped the international debate about NSA surveillance "We cannot discount the risk, in light of the lessons of our own history, that at some point in the future, high-level government officials will decide that this massive database of extraordinarily sensitive private information is there for the plucking. Americans must never make the mistake of wholly 'trusting' our public officials."--The NSA Report This is the official report that is helping shape the international debate about the unprecedented surveillance activities of the National Security Agency. Commissioned by President Obama following disclosures by former NSA contractor Edward J. Snowden, and written by a preeminent group of intelligence and legal experts, the report examines the extent of NSA programs and calls for dozens of urgent and practical reforms. The result is a blueprint showing how the government can reaffirm its commitment to privacy and civil liberties--without compromising national security.

From 9/11 to Charlie Hebdo along with Sony-pocalypse and DARPA's $2 million Cyber Grand Challenge, this book examines counterterrorism and cyber security history, strategies and technologies from a thought-provoking approach that encompasses personal experiences, investigative journalism, historical and current events, ideas from thought leaders and the make-believe of Hollywood such as 24, Homeland and The Americans. President Barack Obama also said in his 2015 State of the Union address, "We are making sure our government integrates intelligence to combat cyber threats, just as we have done to combat terrorism. In this new edition, there are seven completely new chapters, including three new contributed chapters by healthcare chief information security officer Ray Balut and Jean C. Stanford, DEF CON speaker Philip Polstra and security engineer and Black Hat speaker Darren Manners, as well as new commentaries by communications expert Andy Marken and DEF CON speaker Emily Peed. The book offers practical advice for businesses, governments and individuals to better secure the world and protect cyberspace.

Climate change has been identified as one of the greatest threats to humanity of all times. In addition to producing adverse environmental conditions such as rising sea level, drought, crop failure, vector-borne diseases, extreme events, degradation of water/air quality and heat waves, climate change is also considered a threat multiplier that leads to local and international conflicts and armed interventions. Urban areas may bear the brunt of climate change, as they are the centers of human habitation, anthropogenic stressors and environmental degradation, and the ensuing health impacts are of grave societal concern. The papers in this volume span a suite of climate change repercussions, paying particular attention to national security and human health aspects. It is an outcome of a NATO Advanced Research Workshop held during April 28-30, 2011 in Dubrovnik, Croatia, sponsored by the NATO Science for Peace and Security Program. The contributions cut across the elements of modeling, natural, political and social sciences, engineering, politics, military intervention, urban planning, industrial activities, epidemiology and healthcare.