Social Sciences & History Librarian
Government Information Librarian
Elisabeth Garner
Contact:
UNCW Library
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
Subjects: Current Topics, Government Resources
Related Guides
Get Started: Books and Reference
The Constitutional Amendments, 1789 to the Present by ISBN: 0787607827Publication Date: 1999-09-13This reference offers users a single source on the history and significance of all 26 American Consititutional ammendments as well as those proposed but unratified.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by ISBN: 0874367832Publication Date: 1996-08-20Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments covers amendments, people, concepts, and other subjects. The book includes amendments that were proposed but never ratified as well as those that were adopted. Entries describe the amendment in question and explain its significance, including when the amendment was first introduced, the key players involved, and related unusual or otherwise interesting information. An essential reference for students and academics, lawyers and judges, librarians, members of Congress, and others. Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments is being published on the 100th anniversary of the publication of the first such work on amendments.
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
Search the Library Catalog
When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!
Some useful headings for your class may include:
Finding Books on the Shelf
Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed.
- Library of Congress Classification (LC)Randall Library help page for Library of Congress catalog classifications.
Writing Help
- Citation & Bibliography HelpVetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.
- Read&WriteFree to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
- Writing ServicesThe Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).