Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Visit the Center
Location
The Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History is located on the 2nd floor of Discovery Hall in the UNCW Library.
Hours
The Center is open for research visits Monday-Friday from 10am to 2pm, except for UNCW holidays and breaks. Visit our website to view upcoming closures.
Access Policies
Prior to visiting the Center, users should familiarize themselves with our access and use policies.
CSENCAH Collections Related to Nurses' Perspectives
-
MS 116 Quelch Nursing MemorabiliaThis collection consists of nursing memorabilia that belonged to Dorothea Quelch, R.N. Items include a small Manual of The Guild of St. Barnabas for Nurses containing the Constitution and By-Laws, as well as various prayers for the sick and dying or the dead; booklet of Constitution and By-Laws for the Alumnae Association of the Tucker Sanatorium Training School for Nurses in Richmond, Virginia; Constitution and By-Laws of District No. 11 Registered Nurses Association in Wilmington, North Carolina; and a graduation announcement dated 1920.
-
MS 142 James Walker Memorial Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Association PapersThese papers contain the association's records, photographs, brochures, and related memorabilia, as well as documents belonging to alumni from their time of attendance.
-
MS 294 Jean C. and Morris F. Powell MemorabiliaThis collection contains the personal memorabilia of Jean C. and Morris F. Powell, including pharmaceutical advertisements, photographs and a diploma from James Walker Memorial Hospital Nursing School.
-
MS 364 Diane Satterfield CollectionThis collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, photos, pamphlets, and printed documents related to nurse Diane Satterfield and her education at the James Walker Memorial Hospital School of Nursing in Wilmington, NC.
-
MS 371 Blanche Ambrose Scrapbook CollectionThe collection contains five scrapbooks and a few loose documents and photographs depicting Blanche Ambrose's life in Wilmington, NC and her education as a nurse.
-
MS 372 Bulluck Hospital CollectionThis collection contains separated scrapbook pages of newspaper articles, announcements, correspondence, photographs etc. related to the Bulluck Hospital in Wilmington, NC from the early 20th century.
-
MS 381 Annie Mavis Brady Nursing CollectionThis collection contains diplomas, a nursing cape, and a log of surgeries observed by Annie Mavis Brady during her time at James Walker Memorial Nursing School in the 1940s.
-
UNCW Academic Department Records, College of Health and Human ServicesThis collection holds records from the College of Health and Human Services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1960 to the present. CHHS consists of the School of Health and Applied Human Sciences (SHAHS), School of Social Work, and School of Nursing. Administrative files produced by campus offices are predominant in this record group.
-
Nursing in Wilmington, N.C.This is a digital collection of nursing-related materials from the Center's collections that are accessible online. The collection includes James Walker School of Nursing student yearbooks, published under varying titles (The Triangle, The Epitome, and The Cardinal) from 1939-1964 and UNCW School of Nursing alumni magazines and newsletters.
-
Oral History Interviews on Health Services in WilmingtonThis link will take you to a list of over 70 oral history interviews conducted with healthcare workers who lived and worked in the Wilmington area throughout the 20th century. Several of these interviews were conducted with nurses, including former nurses at Community Hospital and James Walker Memorial Hospital, as well as UNCW School of Nursing alumni.