Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Visit the Center
Location
The Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History is located on the 2nd floor of Discovery Hall in the UNCW Library.
Hours
The Center is open for research visits Monday-Friday from 10am to 2pm, except for UNCW holidays and breaks. Visit our website to view upcoming closures.
Access Policies
Prior to visiting the Center, users should familiarize themselves with our access and use policies.
CSENCAH Collections Related to Segregated Care
-
Every Man Should Try byCall Number: F264 .W2 1984Publication Date: 1984This is Hubert Eaton's autobiography. This is probably the best place to start when researching the topic of segregated care in Wilmington/North Carolina. There are several copies of the book that can be checked out from the library's circulating collection.
- MS 46 Hubert Eaton Papers: Hubert Eaton was a Black doctor and civil rights activist who lived in Wilmington from the 1940s until his death in the 1980s. He was instrumental in campaigning and filing lawsuits to integrate several public institutions in Wilmington, including the local hospital system. His collection contains a vast amount of material related to racially segregated healthcare, particularly in the state of North Carolina. The link above will take you to the finding aid for the full collection. Below is a list of the most relevant boxes in the collection related to the topic of race and healthcare. Be advised that this collection has a copying restriction in place. You will not be able to photograph or reproduce any documents from the collection, although you may consult them, take notes on them, and cite them in your class project.
- Boxes 1-4: Correspondence related to Community Hospital (segregated hospital for Black patients)
- Box 5: Correspondence, legal records, and other documents related to James Walker Memorial Hospital (primarily for white patients), including Eaton's discrimination lawsuit against the hospital
- Boxes 6-7: Publications, correspondence, and notes related to the struggle against segregated care in Wilmington
- Boxes 8-11: Publications and files on federal programs for healthcare delivery, including Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, Medicare, and Medicaid, with an emphasis on racial disparities in access to healthcare in North Carolina.
- Boxes 12-13 and boxes 15-16: Correspondence and files from Eaton's private practice in Wilmington and his continuing education
- Box 14: Files on the State of NC's second degree murder lawsuit against Eaton following the death of one of his patients
- Box 17: Files on public health issues in NC
- Box 18: Files on the medical education system in NC
- Box 19: Files on Pitt County Memorial Hospital
- Box 20: Files on the "Medicine in the Ghettos" national conference, including papers on race in healthcare that were presented at the conference
- Box 21: Meeting minutes and other records related to New Hanover Memorial Hospital (integrated hospital created by the merger of Community Hospital and James Walker)
- Boxes 22-24: Correspondence, speeches, and files related to the Old North State Medical Society, a professional society for Black doctors in North Carolina
- Box 25: Publications and files on Area Health Education Centers (AHECs)
-
MS 205 Dr. Leroy W. Upperman CollectionThis collection contains materials relating to the education, career, and civic activities of Dr. Leroy Upperman, including diplomas, certificates, photographs, audiovisual materials, and memorabilia. Also included are diplomas and certificates related to the education and careers of Callie Smith Upperman and Leroy Upperman, Jr. Materials date from 1934 to 1996.
-
MS 233 New Hanover Regional Hospital DocumentsResource contains information on the merging of James Walker Memorial Hospital and Community Hospital into New Hanover Memorial Hospital. Files include architect plans, equipment inventories, financial statements, merger agreements, etc. from 1957-1978.
-
Small Collection 14: Community Hospital EphemeraThis small collection contains one folder of materials pertaining to the history and commemoration of Community Hospital including a program for the third alumnae reunion of the Community Hospital School of Nursing (1988); photos of Olga Beamon Jones, a 1949 graduate of the School of Nursing; photocopy of the program for the recognition ceremonies of the Community Hospital Plaque (1983); a photocopied article from the Journal of the National Medical Association titled, "Community Hospital, Wilmington, North Carolina: A Historical Account" by Hubert A. Eaton, M.D. (January, 1965); a program for the Community Hospital and School of Nursing monument marker unveiling celebration (2006); the Spring 2006 No. 5 issue of Friends, the newsletter of Coastal AHEC containing an article on Community Hospital by Dr. R.T. Sinclair Jr.