LibGuides: Nursing: Home

Research Databases

Journal articles are grouped together into various subscription packages by different vendors such as ProQuest and EbscoHost. It's possible that you may not find all the resources you need in one place. You can search multiple EbscoHost databases simultaneously by using the search widget box below. Or, you may search by selecting individual databases by name (below the search widget) such as CINAHL Plus with Full Text or Ovid Emcare. Using a search widget casts a broader net while using an individual database allows for a more controlled search.

EbscoHost Health Sciences Search Widget

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Individual Research Databases *** THE LINKS TO THE DATABASES APPEAR BELOW THESE TABS ***

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
In January 2024 Randall Library upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate from CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Resource provides searchable database for sources on the fields of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Website includes journals, videos, dissertations, reference books, etc.

Ovid Medline
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 27 million references to journal articles. More than 5,200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Coverage is from 1946-present.

Ovid Emcare
Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.

Sage Health and Nursing Hub
Browse or Search through Sage Health & Nursing Hub. Resources include Journal Articles, Books, and Multimedia.

R2 Library
Rittenhouse Book Distributors Inc. offers access to ebooks covering the subjects of Nursing, Medicine and Allied Health. Randall Library has purchased access to over 94 of the 150 titles in the R2 Library. There is also an A-Z Topic index and an A-Z Drug index in the database.

See Video Tutorial link below for database instructions.

Pubmed

Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours and the Video Tutorials for Database Searching Instruction.

PubMed Overview Sheet
What is in PubMed?
Find Articles on a Topic
Get the Full Text for an Article
Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder
Find Articles from a Citation
PubMed Subject Search: How it Works
Using PubMed in Evidence Based Practice
Evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.

Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study. UNCW has access to 1,700+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books.

Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

See Video Tutorial below for Help using Google and Google Scholar.

Using Google to Search for Articles in the Health Sciences

Web of Science - Core Collection
This collection of databases delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

Health and Wellness (Gale)
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

Sigma Repository
The Sigma Repository is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing work created by nurses around the world. Nurses at any career stage (student to retired) can submit their materials to the repository to share their knowledge in a global forum.

Evidence-Based Resources to Inform Healthcare Decision Making

UpToDate
Cochrane Library

UpToDate
UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool used by working professionals in clinical settings as well as researchers. Each article includes references with links back to the sources in the National Library of Medicine. UpToDate also includes patient handouts, comprehensive drug information, health related calculators, and Lexicomp Drug Interaction information. *** Please note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate Anywhere, you must re-verify your affiliation with UNCW once every 90 days. Re-verifying can be done using either of the options listed below.

1.) Access UpToDate via this library Subject Guide at least once every 90 days. This will automatically re-verify your affiliation and you will not receive any re-verification messaging. This method requires no UpToDate log in.

2.) Log into UpToDate by going to www.uptodate.com from a computer connected to UNCW's network. This method requires you to log in to UpToDate.

See Video Tutorial link below for database instructions.

UpToDate Tutorial

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

See Video Tutorial link below for database instructions.

Cochrane Library Video Tutorial

Need Help With the Research Process Itself?

ProQuest Research Companion
ProQuest Research Companion contains more than 80 short videos are organized into nine Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?" Different kinds of "pre" and "post" assessment questions make the viewing experience more interactive, while allowing educators to measure students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding.

Introduction to Basic Researching for Nursing Students
Please note: If you are off-campus, you will have to login with your UNCW e-mail and password to access online resources such as journal articles and e-Books.
Choosing Credible Resources for Research
How to Search for Research Instruments
This video tutorial will show you how to search for Research Instruments using four different databases. 16 minutes.
Ovid Search Builder
Are you having trouble formulating, or getting results for your PICO search? You might find the Ovid Search Builder Tool helpful.

Nursing

Nursing Librarian

Research Databases

EbscoHost Health Sciences Search Widget

Individual Research Databases * THE LINKS TO THE DATABASES APPEAR BELOW THESE TABS *

Evidence-Based Resources to Inform Healthcare Decision Making

Need Help With the Research Process Itself?