Nursing

Outlines each step of the health assessment process and further demonstrates the link between health history and physical examination. It also provides the healthcare professional with the essential data needed to formulate a diagnosis and treatment plan. Key Features and Benefits: Three introductory chapters cover general strategies for health history taking, physical examination, and documentation, and the remaining chapters cover clinical aspects of assessment, and focus on various systemic disorders. New chapters on spiritual, cultural, and nutritional assessment. Updated chapters on female genitourinary and breast disorders and musculoskeletal disorders. Every clinical chapter contains a differential diagnosis of common disorders as well as a section on the assessment of special populations.

This advanced physiology and pathophysiology text is designed to address the specific learning needs of future nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other advanced healthcare providers caring for patients across the lifespan. Focusing on practical applications of physiology, it facilitates in-depth understanding of important pathophysiological concepts as they relate to major disorders commonly seen in clinical practice and includes comprehensive pediatric and geriatric considerations. Key Features: Designed explicitly to build a foundation for pharmacology and clinical courses that lead to successful clinical practice and prescribing Includes comprehensive lifespan considerations with key insights from specialists in pediatric and geriatric pathophysiology.

A powerful manifesto for CEOs and employees alike: Influential and award-winning business leader Margaret Heffernan reveals how organizations can build ideal workplace cultures and create seismic shifts by making deceptively small changes. By implementing sweeping changes, businesses often think it's possible to do better, to earn more, and have happier employees. So why does engagement prove so difficult and productivity so elusive? In Beyond Measure, Margaret Heffernan looks back over her decades spent overseeing different organizations and comes to a counterintuitive conclusion: it's the small shifts that have the greatest impact.

The Doctor of Nursing Practice; A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Fifth Edition remains the most comprehensive guide for both role and career development for the DNP student and professional. IAs with previous editions, the hallmark feature of the Fifth Edition is its accessible and easy-to-read approach enabling it to serve as both an educational resource for students as well as professional reference for years to follow.

Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, teaching tips, and discussion questions with answer guides. There are good leaders, then there are exceptional leaders. Exceptional leaders use competencies-a set of professional and personal skills, knowledge, values, and traits that guide a leader's performance. In an era of change and uncertainty in healthcare, it is crucial that leaders learn not only how to be exceptional, but also what makes an exceptional leader. In this second edition of their best-selling book, the authors detail 16 competencies grouped in four cornerstone categories: Well-Cultivated Self-Awareness, Compelling Vision, A Real Way With People, and Masterful Execution. Each of the 16 competencies is explored in its own chapter to define the competency, provide examples and advice, and explain the common skill deficits that prevent its mastery.

The 7th Edition of a multiple AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Explore family nursing the way it's practiced today in the United States and Canada--with a theory-guided, evidence-based approach to care throughout the family life cycle that responds to the needs of families and adapts to the changing dynamics of the health care system. From health promotion to end of life, a streamlined organization delivers the clinical guidance you need to care for today's families. Practice and reflection questions for every case study to help nursing students develop their ability to reflect on their practice of working with families. NCLEX®-style questions in the Appendix to develop critical-thinking and clinical judgment skills.

This book explains how financial management fits into the healthcare organization. Topics include accounting principles, cost analysis, planning and control management of the organization's financial resources, and the use of management tools. In addition to current issues, this edition also addresses future directions in financial management. Nursing-focused content thoroughly describes health care finance and accounting from the nurse manager's point of view. Numerous worksheets and tables including healthcare spreadsheets, budgets, and calculations illustrate numerous financial and accounting methods.

Take an evidence-based approach to health promotion across the lifespan and clinical specialties. Written for NPs and advanced practitioners, this text provides coaching in how to read, evaluate, and apply the best evidence to health promotion plans for individuals and their families to help them prevent or manage chronic and acute diseases and disorders. Step-by-step, a who's who of educators, researchers, and practitioners explore the models and skills you need to help your patients, including those with multiple co-morbidities, while evaluating medical evidence that changes rapidly, or may be unclear. You'll also be prepared for the health promotion questions on certification exams.

You'll not only learn about leadership, but also how to use your skills to manage staff, implement policy changes, and to develop systems that deliver cost effective, quality-controlled care. The coverage encompasses the competencies required by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing in conjunction with major specialty nursing organizations. You'll begin with the theories, models, and frameworks that provide the window through which to view leadership in the context of the regulations and standards that guide the delivery of care. Then, you'll explore the importance of creating a culture that ensures safe, quality care, and learn how to plan and evaluate programs to affect change.

Known for its clear explanations of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 11th Edition provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. Simplifies complex pharmacology concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. Prototype Drugs approach focuses on representative drugs that characterize all members of a given drug group, so that you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text to reinforce the integral relationship between drug therapy and nursing care. Safety Alerts call out important safety concerns related to contraindications, adverse effects, and more. Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span tables highlight safe and appropriate care for patients throughout their lives, from infancy to older adulthood. Concise drug summary tables present key information for individual drugs, including drug class, generic and trade names, dosages, routes, and indications.

This completely updated third edition challenges nurses to fulfill their critical role and responsibility to society in advancing health policy by providing them with the tools to achieve their goals. This edition addresses the impact of critical issues including COVID-19, diversity, social determinants of health, and social justice. Challenges faced by nurses in care delivery including the safety, health, and well-being of nurses (e.g., suicide) are explored. Recently issued seminal documents, including the Future of Nursing 2020-2030 report, the American Association of Colleges of Nurses' "Essentials," and the World Health Organization's report on the Health Workforce are highlighted. Emphasis is placed opportunities for nurses to leading and taking action in health policy. Robust discussion of strategies with the use of evidence and real-world examples and stories provide nurses with the foundation to be policy influencers. This pragmatic text helps nurses acquire an in-depth understanding of the intricacies of policy development and the opportunities to shape policy across the larger healthcare landscape and within their communities.

Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Sixth Edition continues to help nursing students make sense of nursing informatics in an easy-to-follow approach. A practical guide for understanding how to efficiently use modern technology in today's healthcare system, this award-winning nursing textbook teaches students how to acquire, process and disseminate knowledge. The authors use their unique Foundation of Knowledge Model throughout as an organizational structure by which to learn and teach nursing informatics. This comprehensive framework guides students through the basic building blocks of nursing informatics (nursing science, information science, computer science, cognitive science) before diving into current technologies, tools, and trends in nursing informatics.

Updated evidence-based algorithms and drug tables - Listing uses, mechanisms, adverse effects, drug interactions, contraindications, and monitoring parameters, organized by drug class; quick access to generic and trade names and dosages. Quick-scan format organizes information by body system. Chapter features include: Brief overview - Pathophysiology of each disorder, and relevant classes of drugs. Monitoring Patient Response section - What to monitor, and when. Patient Education section - Includes information on CAM for each disorder. Drug Overview tables - Usual dose, contraindications and side effects, and special considerations. Updated Recommended Order of Treatment tables - First-, second- and third-line drug therapies for each disorder. Selecting the Most Appropriate Agent section - The thought process for choosing an initial drug therapy.

Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice.

Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care, 7th Edition features analysis of healthcare issues and first-person stories to help you learn how to influence policy in today's changing health care environment. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. Winner of several American Journal of Nursing "Book of the Year" awards!

Population Health, Epidemiology, and Public Health: Management Skills for Creating Healthy Communities presents the principles and tools that administrators and practitioners need to monitor, assess, and manage the health of populations in challenging times. Although public health catastrophes can and will change over time, the key concepts and evidence-based lessons detailed in this book are both timeless and essential. This significantly updated edition includes five new chapters on the social determinants of health, disease prevention strategies, the value of a systems-thinking methodology, and the application of population health principles during the COVID-19 pandemic. Other new content in this edition includes: current public health initiatives, including Healthy People 2030; discussions on ethical conduct in research; up-to-date epidemiological case studies on Salmonella, Zika virus, measles, and COVID-19; approaches to population health, such as community health needs assessments and Health in All Policies; and exercises that draw on data sources.

4th Edition. 2015.

Primary Care, 6th Edition, online case studies, and Davis Edge work together to create an interactive learning experience that prepares students for their roles as Advanced Practice Nurses in the primary care setting. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks Davis Edge, the online case studies, and an ebook. Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners in collaboration with a physician, this popular text explores the theoretical foundations of everything Primary Care. Its comprehensive and easy-to-follow presentation examines the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders of every body system across the life span. Online case studies use real-world scenarios to develop clinical decision-making skills as students learn how to properly diagnose and treat patients. Over 1,000 board-style questions test students' knowledge and retention of what they are learning.

Helps nurse executives ethically navigate the unique challenges and moral dilemmas of healthcare This unique text is the first to introduce professional moral courage as an essential competency in nurse executive leadership. It provides a foundation and understanding of the role of professional moral courage in nursing practice, places it in the context of current healthcare challenges and dilemmas, and identifies the characteristics and qualities required to lead in such situations. Authored by a seasoned nurse executive, the text begins with an overview of the healthcare environment; roles, responsibilities, and challenges of the nurse executive; and ethical dimensions of nurse executive practice. It then introduces the construct of professional moral courage, establishes a supporting competency framework, delineates a measurement tool, and provides guidance on how a nurse executive can develop and nurture this vital competency.

The Third Edition teaches students to interpret and evaluate statistical findings in practice. The Third Edition is written with clarity and accessibility in mind, helping drive student comprehension of statistics. Expanded datasets allow for learners to take on more complex practice problems, readying them for real-world application. In addition to featuring the latest SPSS procedures, the new edition presents further instruction using Excel. Readers will appreciate updated case studies, the inclusion of evidence-based practice applications of statistics, and critical thinking questions. New to the Third Edition:- New evidence-based case studies reflect current practices and issues in nursing- New critical thinking questions and self-quizzes reinforce key concepts- Complex datasets simulate working with large populations- Updated screenshots from SPSS and Excel procedures

Once upon a time a clan of meerkats lived in the Kalahari, a region in southern Africa. After years of steady growth, a drought has sharply reduced the clan's resources, and deadly vulture attacks have increased. As things keep getting worse, the har­mony of the clan is shattered. The executive team quarrels about possible solutions, and sugges­tions from frontline workers face a soul-crushing response: "That's not how we do it here!" So Nadia, a bright and adventurous meerkat, hits the road in search of new ideas to help her trou­bled clan. She discovers a much smaller group that operates very differently, with much more teamwork and agility. These meerkats have developed innova­tive solutions to find food and evade the vultures. But not everything in this small clan is as perfect as it seems at first. Can Nadia figure out how to combine the best of both worlds--a large, disciplined, well-managed clan and a small, informal, inspiring clan--before it's too late?

The ideal "how-to" book for harnessing the power of the nurse-family relationship! Use the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to assess families effectively and know when and how to intervene to reduce suffering and promote health. You'll also learn how to avoid the three most common errors in family nursing and how to conduct a 15-minute interview.