LibGuides: Tourism, Recreation, and Sport: Scholarly Articles

Welcome!

Welcome to the Tourism, Recreation, and Sport Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to tourism, hospitality, recreation, leisure, and sports related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research. Click the tabs on the left side of this page to explore different materials.

Recommended Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly material and other reliable literature with the perspective of health, fitness, sports medicine, and related fields.

Summon
Allows you to search for articles from journals to which we subscribe, content from participating databases to which we subscribe, freely available content such as from open access journals or government websites, and books, ebooks, government documents, archival materials, special collection and many other types of items from our library. Find more detailed information.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. Find more detailed information.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine. Find more detailed information.
Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Hospitality and Tourism offers current and relevant content on both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Tourism, Recreation, and Sports Scholarly Journals

These journals are key resources for scholarly and peer-reviewed material in the fields of recreation, tourism, and sports. Skip the databases and browse or search the journals directly using the links below.

Journal of Leisure Research
An international scholarly journal that publishes interdisciplinary research that addresses critical issues of access to and engagement in leisure behaviors as they affect health and well-being across sectors (i.e., parks, recreation, leisure, sport, tourism, events) at individual, group, community and societal levels.
Tourism and Hospitality Research
Tourism and Hospitality Research publishes dynamic and original research on a wide range of issues in the context of tourism and hospitality, including consumer behavior, marketing, strategy, policy and planning, environmental studies, psychology, and many more.
Recreational Sports Journal
This journal provides empirical, theoretical, and applied research to the field of recreational sports. Topics include student development, programming, and organizational development.
Annals of Tourism Research
A social sciences journal focusing upon academic perspectives on tourism. Disciplinary areas include: service industries management, marketing science, consumer marketing, decision-making and behavior, business ethics, economics and forecasting, environment, geography and development, education and knowledge development, political science and administration, consumer-focused psychology, and anthropology and sociology.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
JOPERD is a peer-reviewed, authoritative, professional source for educators in physical education, sport, recreation, and dance in all settings. Features articles about teaching methods, curriculum, teacher preparation, professional issues, coaching, youth sports, fitness, recreation, and dance.
Consumer Behavior in Tourism and Hospitality
Previously published as the International Journal of Culture, Tourism, and Hospitality Research, this journal includes research in describing, explaining, predicting, and influencing tourism and hospitality behavior. Topics include marketing and consumer behavior, psychology, management and organizational behavior, behavioral economics, sociology, semiotics, anthropology, geography, and history.
International Journal of Tourism Research
This journal includes both primary research and reviews in the fields of tourism, economics, marketing, sociology, and statistics.

Tourism, Recreation, and Sport

Health and Human Services Librarian

Need Help?

Related Guides

Welcome!

Recommended Databases

Tourism, Recreation, and Sports Scholarly Journals

Other Helpful Article Databases