LibGuides: Tourism, Recreation, and Sport: Statistical and Professional Resources

Health Data Sources

CDC Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity: Data and Statistics
Ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion: Nutrition & Physical Activity
A federal advisory committee that aims to promote healthy eating and physical activity for all Americans, regardless of background or ability. Find guidelines, community resources, and statistics.
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
Health Facts by State
Health data in a variety of indicators and categories at the state-level compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Library Statistics Databases

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
You do not need to be on-campus to create an account but you must log in to your account from a UNCW IP address or UNCW-owned computer at least once to be associated with the UNCW membership.
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Statistics of U.S. Business
U.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.
LINC
LINC (Log Into North Carolina) is a service of the North Carolina State Data Center. It is "the most valuable Web resource for NC statistical data." Features: Over 1000 data items from state and federal agencies; Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030; State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage; Definitions and help screens; Customized report capabilities; Preformatted topic reports, including census profiles; Continual updates incorporating newly released data. LINC provides statistics in these broad areas: Population and Housing; Vital Statistics and Health; Social and Human Services; Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections; Environment, Recreation, and Resources; Energy and Utilities; Government; Employment and Income; Business and Industry; Agriculture; Transportation.
Sage Data
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Through a single platform, users can search and browse 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources, covering 16 subject areas. The platform's powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. Find more information.

Professional Organizations

Public and Non-Profit Recreation

National Recreation and Park Association
Network of park and recreation professionals and advocates that represent public spaces in urban communities, rural settings and everything in between. NRPA supports the field of parks and recreation through professional development, advocacy, grants and programs, research, publications, and more.
North Carolina Recreation and Park Association
Nonprofit education and advocacy organization dedicated to the advancement of the park, recreation, and leisure professions in North Carolina.
Association of Outdoor Recreation and Education
Organization dedicated to serving the needs of recreation and education professionals in non-profit settings. Through AORE, members have a mechanism to interact with and affect decisions made by public land managers and the human powered outdoor recreation industry.
American Camp Association
Community of camp professionals who share knowledge and experience and to ensure the quality of camp programs.
National Parks Conservation Association
Organization dedicated to protect and preserve national parks in the United States. Resources include white papers, magazine, and research reports.

Tourism, Hospitality, and Events

Wilmington Area Hospitality Association (WAHA)
The regional tourism membership organization in Wilmington, NC, that represents all businesses in the hospitality industry.
U.S. Travel Association
National, non-profit organization representing all components of the travel industry, including transportation, lodging, retail, recreation and entertainment and foodservice.
Resort and Commercial Recreation Association
Organization that promotes professional development, creative resources, and networking for professionals, students, educators, and vendors dedicated to delivering services in the recreation industry.
American Hotel & Lodging Association
Organization for hotel and lodging industry professionals, including global hotel brands, management companies, industry suppliers, and more.

Recreational Sport Leadership

Society of Health and Physical Educators
Professional organization for health and physical education professionals. It work includes national standards and research related to health and physical activity.
North Carolina American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation
Also known as NC SHAPE, this nonprofit organization supports athletics, health, physical education, recreation, dance and sport management professionals.
North American Society for Sport Management
Professional association with the mission to promote, stimulate, and encourage study, research, scholarly writing, and professional development in the area of sport management.
Wellness Council of America
Organization of business and health professionals who focus on improving employee well-being, promoting workplace wellness, and creating healthier organizational cultures.