The U.S Civil War in Southeast North Carolina

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries. Includes the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is the source for the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, giving digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The historical periodicals collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals and provides rich content detailing American history and culture, including advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

American History in Video includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content, more than half of which is from the 1890 merican History in Video features videos from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel®, and others.

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Find more information.

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about enslaved people, slaveholders, and free people of color.

The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

History Commons includes over 5 million pages of newspapers, archival materials, letters, diaries, photographs, and other critical historical documents. European collections contain content sourced from The National Archives (UK), available in digital format for the first time. North American collections, including Black and women's historical content from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, is sourced from Accessible Archives.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society, Workers and Labor Unions, American Indians and the American West, and Women’s Studies. Find more information.

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

This collection brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. Collections include North Carolina Memory, North Carolina College and University Yearbooks, North Carolina Newspapers, and more.

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources. It is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence through history and to digitize and index over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished material to the highest standards. This project will enable historians, sociologists, students of literature, genealogical researchers, students, and general readers to experience these writings in a new way.

North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, bringing together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina. They support researchers of the history and culture of North Carolina

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.