Civil Liberties in the United States

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877. Harper's Weekly was one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America, because it provided detailed information about cultural, military, political, and social issues. Its illustrations helped readers visualize current events. Its editorials were a major force in shaping public opinion in the North. The three parts of HarpWeek, an indexed, full-text database of Harper^s Weekly, provide searchable access to the events, people, and culture of the Civil War Era, 1857-1865; Reconstruction I, 1866-1871; Reconstruction II, 1872-1877.

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights. The Nation Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile, dating back to the magazine's first issue from July 6, 1865.

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is considered of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. It features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints. This digital archive offers a searchable full-text backfile of all issues of the magazine.

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.

Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields. Use USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more. Find more information.

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present. Finding aid for congressional hearings (published and unpublished), committee prints, and committee reports and documents from 1824-1969. Includes access to U.S. Serial Set, a collection of primary source U.S. government publications compiled under directive of the Congress, Congressional Record, and Hearings Digital Collection. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Also includes access to legislative histories, bills by number, committee hearings and testimony, members of congress directory, and social media. Find more detailed information.

Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.

A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers

A comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.