Contact Your Librarian
Recommended Databases
For research in all areas of physics and access to conference proceedings, book chapters, and peer reviewed journal articles, we recommend these databases.
- CERN Document ServerSearchable database with over 800,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. Available from CERN , the European Organization for Nuclear Research, the world's largest particle physics centre.
- INSPIREOpen access digital library for the field of high energy physics. Find more information.
- NASA Astrophysics Data SystemNASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 8.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. Some full-text articles, as well as astronomy preprints, are available, including digitized historical astronomy and astrophysics literature.
- Scitation DatabaseProvides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides abstracts for the more than 80 journals published by the American Institute of Physics and it member societies.
- Web of Science - Core CollectionAccess the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.
Open Access Repositories
The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
- INSPIREOpen access digital library for the field of high energy physics. Find more information.
- arXiv.orgOpen access to hundreds of thousands of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- OSTI.GOV (Office of Science and Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy)OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI's home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect. OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.