LibGuides: Physics and Physical Oceanography: Oceanography/Coastal Engineering Resources

Recommended Databases: Oceanography/Coastal Engineering

For research specifically in high energy physics, we recommend these databases. (You will see some overlap between these resources and those on the main page of the guide!)

ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Premier database for literature on the marine science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms. Find more information.
INSPIRE
Open access digital library for the field of high energy physics from the 1970s to present. INSPIRE also includes a directory of institutions associated with HEP; employment opportunities in HEP, nuclear physics, accelerator physics and astrophysics; listings of meetings and conferences; and a database containing summaries of HEP and HEP-related experiments from many different labs and locations around the world.
NASA Astrophysics Data System
NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 8.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. Some full-text articles, as well as astronomy preprints, are available, including digitized historical astronomy and astrophysics literature.
Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a new generation of SciFinder. It is the premiere reference tool for research in chemistry. SciFinder-n can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. SciFinder-n provides an interface for searching six integrated bibliographic, substance, and reaction databases. In addition to chemistry and biochemistry, it includes coverage in the areas of agricultural sciences, biology and life sciences, engineering sciences, food sciences, geological sciences, material sciences, medical sciences, physics, and polymer science. Find more detailed information.
Registration required.
Scitation Database
Provides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides abstracts for the more than 80 journals published by the American Institute of Physics and it member societies.
Web of Science - Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.

Helpful Websites

NOAA Central Library
An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.
National Sea Grant Library
The NSGL was the digital library and official archive for NOAA’s Sea Grant documents from the 1960s through 2020. Its catalogue remains a comprehensive and deeply searchable collection of Sea Grant-funded documents from the over 30 programs and projects across the United States and Territories. This collection includes a wide variety of subjects including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law.
ReefBase
The world's premier online information system on coral reefs, and provides information services to coral reef professionals involved in management, research, monitoring, conservation and education. Also included is full-text to first through the tenth International Coral Reef Symposium (ICRS) Proceedings.