LibGuides: HON 399: A Thesis Preparation Course: Annotated Bibliograpy

Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and other resources. Each citation is followed by a brief descriptive and evaluative paragraph: the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. Annotations are usually about 150 words.

The Process

These annotations should include one or more sentences that:

Evaluate the authority, background, and education of the author(s)
Comment on the intended audience. For whom was it written (general public/any reader, subject specialists, college students)? What skill level or education level must the reader have?
Compare or contract this work with another you have cited
Discuss how this work explains your selected topic

Resources for Annotated Bibliographies

Writing the Annotated Bibliography by Luke Beatty; Cynthia A. Cochran
This comprehensive and practical guide covers the elements, style, and use of annotated bibliographies in the research and writing process for any discipline; key disciplinary conventions; and tips for working with digital sources. rther resources for instructors and researchers.　 Writing the Annotated Bibliography is an essential resource for first-year and advanced composition classes, courses in writing across the disciplines, graduate programs, library science instruction programs, and academic libraries at the secondary level and beyond. It is suitable for both undergraduate and graduate students and for researchers at all levels.