LibGuides: HON 399: A Thesis Preparation Course: Home

Course Overview

This course is designed as a workshop to help students prepare for their thesis experience in their senior year and develop a full-fledged proposal of their research projects. Targeted primarily for juniors, the goals of the class are to teach students how to find a good topic of inquiry, how to define a research question, how to find an advisor, and what resources exist on campus to help them execute their projects. Overall, the idea is to “demystify” the thesis process, reassure students of its manageable scope, and help them understand the value of undergraduate research. This course is taught both in Fall and Spring semesters. Ideally, sections of HON 399 will be broken down by disciplines: social sciences, sciences, humanities, business, health and human services, and interdisciplinary.

Recommended eBooks

The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices.
This book guides students through their first experience of producing a thesis and undertaking original research.

Database Resources

Sage Research Methods
Contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. Supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Access includes research methods case studies and datasets. Find more detailed information.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ProQuest Research Companion
ProQuest Research Companion contains more than 80 short videos are organized into nine Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?" Different kinds of "pre" and "post" assessment questions make the viewing experience more interactive, while allowing educators to measure students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding.

HON 399: A Thesis Preparation Course

Business Librarian

Welcome!

Course Overview

Recommended eBooks

Database Resources